Goat Cheese, Honey and Peach Tart

 Hello everyone!

Hope you all had a great Father’s Day!

I certainly did.

IMG_8416

My dad had been gone most of the weekend, having gone  to the coast with my brothers, so when they got home on Sunday evening he was pretty tired, but thankfully a little more destressed.

And of course having delicious food makes everything better.

Which is what I tried to accomplish to show how much I appreciate my dad. I mean, he puts up with my moodiness and rants, and still manages to put a smile on his face for me.

Could he be any better?

IMG_8423

I’ve always said i’ve been blessed with such a great family and he really is the perfect example. He’s supported me through everything i’ve done and never once turned his back on me. I really couldn’t have asked for better.

IMG_8424

Now, you’re probably thinking

“ok she made this tart for her dad on Father’s Day”

Well, not exactly. See I made this tart last Friday, and trust me it was gone before Father’s Day.

I did however make my dad an amazing, if I do say so myself, peach pie. My dad loves fruit pies, and honestly I really don’t make them that often. I’ve always craved rich chocolate and peanut butter desserts rather than fruits.

But I have to say this summer is changing my mind. We’ve been on an overload of fruit lately, having been sent a box full of delicious mangos, plus we have a peach tree in our backyard that is doing wonderfully!

Already we’ve made peach pie, this peach tart, peach salads, peach jam. Our family has been positively peachy!

Ha ha, excuse the pun.

IMG_8427

Anyway, this tart is good. The goat cheese adds a wonderful creamy factor to the tart without making it too sweet. Which makes this one of the best summer treats!

Enjoy!

Goat Cheese, Honey and Peach Tart

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)
 
Ingredients
 
1 pre-baked tart dough (Recipe follows)
1/4 – 1/2 cup goat cheese
1 tsp sugar plus more for sprinkling
1/4 cup honey
2 cups fresh peach slices
basil or mint for garnish
 
Tart Dough
(Recipe adapted from David Lebovitz)
 
3 tbls butter
1 tbls vegetable or canola oil
3 tbls water
1 tbls sugar
1/8 tsp salt
1 slightly rounded cup flour
basil or mint for garnish
 
Directions
 
Once the tart dough is cool enough, combine the goat cheese and 1 tsp of sugar in a small bowl. Mix to combine. Spread the goat cheese over the bottom of the tart dough evenly.
Next fan the peaches all over the tart to completely cover.
Drizzle with the honey and sprinkle with as much sugar as you like. I used probably about 1/4 cup.
Place in oven and bake for about 15-18 minutes.
Let cool, garnish with fresh basil or mint and serve with fresh whipped cream!
 
For the Tart Dough
 
Preheat the oven to 410º F (210º C).
In a medium-sized pot, combine the butter, oil, water, sugar, and salt.
Place pot over medium heat until butter is melted and is boiling.
Turn off the heat and dump in the flour and stir it in quickly, until it comes together and forms a ball which pulls away from the sides of the bowl.
Transfer the dough to a 9-inch tart mold with a removable bottom and spread it a bit with a spatula.
Once the dough is cool enough to handle, pat it into the shell with the heel of your and, and use your fingers to press it up the sides of the tart mold. Reserve a small piece of dough, about the size of a raspberry, for patching any cracks.
Prick the dough all over with the tines of a fork about ten times, then bake the tart shell in the oven for 15 minutes, or until the dough is golden brown.
Remove from the oven and if there are any sizable cracks, use the bits of reserved dough to fill in and patch them.

Leave a Reply

