Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Pasta

*Sigh*
I know, i’m being very unpatriotic.
Tomorrow is July 4th. Independance day! And I haven’t posted anything that symbolizes the good ole’ red white and blue.
Shame on me.

I mean, i’m posting about pasta of all things the day before. Really Sarah? Good job.

But that doesn’t mean i’m not proud of my country. I mean, I can go to Wal Mart in my pajamas if I want and I won’t get arrested. I am a woman and I can freely get a job wherever I want and actually follow my dreams and make them happen.

You get what i’m saying?

This is ‘Murica!

Yeah!

So here it is, my very unpatriotic Italian dish that I am posting for you all. Because I can. And because it’s delicious.
Enjoy and happy Independance Day!

Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Pasta

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

 

Ingredients

 

1 lb pasta of your choice

1 bunch fresh basil leaves, plus extra for garnish

1/2 cup pine nuts

3/4 cup sundried tomatos in olive oil

3 cloves garlic

1/2 cup olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

 

Bring a large pot of heavily salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, make the pesto by combining basil, pine nuts, sundried tomatos, garlic, and olive oil in a food processor or blender. Process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Toss pasta with pesto. For an extra touch of color and flavor, top pasta with cherry or sun-dried tomatoes. Divide pasta among serving bowls and garnish each serving with a basil leaf.

One comment

Leave a Reply

