Planning a Trip to the Big Easy and Homemade Spanish Rice

 So how was everyone’s 4th of July?

Mine was pretty great, burgers and hot dogs and CAKE!

Ok, maybe i’m a little too excited about the cake, but it was so good. And the weather outside was just perfect. Sunny and beautiful but not scorching and unbearable. How did we luck out this year?

Anyway, i’m very excited for next week because I am finally going to the lovely city of New Orleans with my mom and my brother. Ah, how exciting! Beignets, coffee, gumbo, shrimp, and everything delicious. How does that not sound fun?

So far all of my must see places i’ve picked out are restaurants. The foodie in me is the main reason why I want to go, I’m sure some of ya’ll understand right?

Now, I’ve been through Lousiana before but never stayed, so I gotta ask everyone, what’re the best things to do there? What do you like to do/see? What do I just have to do to complete my trip? Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Next week be expecing some posts from my adventures there, because I am sure I will be bursting to tell you all, hehe.

Ok, i’ll stop bugging you about what I should do, and tell you about this amazing rice dish that deserves a post all on it’s own. I know, spanish rice is ordinary and it should be accompanied by a main dish as well, but seriously, I just love spanish rice. I’ll eat it as a main dish any day! And easy? Psh, let me tell you, you can whip this up real fast after a long day at work. Easy peasy, and if you like, cheesy!

Enjoy!

Spanish Rice

(Recipe adapted from Jamie Deen)

 

Ingredients

 

2 tbls olive oil

1 yellow onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup white rice

1 3/4 cup chicken stock or water

1 can black beans

2 tbls tomato paste

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp mustard powder

1 tbls paprika

garlic salt to taste

Colby jack or queso fresco or cheddar shredded.

 

Directions

 

Heat oil in a medium sized skillet over medium high heat. Add in onion and cook until soft and translucent. Add in garlic and continue cooking for 1 minute longer.

add in the rice to toast for 1 minute longer, then add in the rest of the ingredients.

Lower heat to a simmer, cover and let cook until the water is absorbed and the rice is cooked through, about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

