Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreo Cupcakes

So remember how I was talking about my brother making a movie soon?

Well, you see, it would be very very helpful to him if he could actually get funded for making this film.

Like many things, making a movie kind of takes a lot of money. Most of it is coming out of his pocket, but with some help from some very nice people, he will be able to take this movie completely over the top!

This movie is going to be a horror film, and we’re filming it down off of the gulf coast. He already has actors hired, he has a great camera, great recording equipment, he’s got the whole thing planned out. This movie will seriously be great I know it!

So for anyone who would like to help out with this film, please go to this link here at kickstarter and donate some money.

I hate to be asking for money from you guys, but I really want to help my brother out with his movie, and anything will make a world of a difference!

Your opportunity to help out a young local film student at The University of Texas is here!

You never know, he could be the next Steven Spielberg!

So aside from the movie, I have for you all these delicious cupcakes. Chocolate, peanut butter, and oreos… These are great.

I don’t know how many of you dip your oreos in peanut butter like me, but it’s so amazing. I remember being younger and watching The Parent Trap with Lindsey Lohan, back when she was a cute little kid, and watching her eat her oreos with peanut butter. I admit, I thought that sounded so gross. Why would she do such a thing to already perfect oreos?!

I was wrong. Dead wrong. Oreos are chocolatey and peanut butter goes with chocolate just as it goes with jelly. They were practically made for each other!

So of course, when I was with some friends and I fell back in love with oreos and peanut butter I knew I had to make something combining the two.

My friends. These cupcakes have arrived.

Chocolate cupcakes with rich peanut butter and oreo buttercream frosting.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreo Cupcakes

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

 

Ingredients


3/4 cup plus 2 tbls AP flour

1 cup sugar

1/4 plus 2 tbls cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup shaken buttermilk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg, room temperature

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup hot coffee

Frosting


1 stick butter, room temperature

1/3 cup peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

2-3 cups powdered sugar

5 oreos, or however many you want in your frosting

 

 

Directions


Preheat the oven to 350F.

Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment and mix on low speed until combined. In another bowl, combine the buttermilk, oil, eggs, and vanilla. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. With mixer still on low, add the coffee and stir just to combine, scraping the bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula.

Pour into cupcake liner lined cupcake tin and bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

For the frosting beat the butter and peanut butter until smooth. Add in vanilla. Add in the powdered sugar one cup at a time until desired consistency.**

**Notes: Because of the oreos in the frosting it’s hard to pipe onto a cupcake. I cut off the tip of a plastic bag rather big, and piped it on that way. Sloppy, but you can always just top with another oreo. I’m sure nobody would mind!

One comment

Leave a Reply

