Pork Belly Enchiladas with Tomatillo Blanco Sauce

One of the hardest parts for me about writing recipes or a new blog post is trying to come up with a name for it.

Take this recipe for example. Pork belly enchiladas with tomatillo blanco sauce. Yes, it describes the dish but is it too much? Is adding the blanco really necessary? I could just put tomatillo sauce but I feel like people would think of tomatillo salsa instead of a creamy sauce. And why blanco? Couldn’t I just say white sauce? I don’t know, I felt like saying blanco is more spanish sounding.

So you see how much thought I put into this. Even after I write a post I have somewhat of name nervosa. I mean seriously, I don’t want to sound like a complete idiot.

Talking about this is definitely helping I think…

Anyway, lately I have been trying to write out a menu for my brothers movie shoot. One week of breakfast, lunch, and dinner that can all be made quick and easy, but still satisfy a bunch of ravenous actors, who have all told my brother, that are definitely not vegetarians. Looks like I’ve got a bunch of carnivores to feed.

The hardest part it seems for me, is that we’ll be shooting all day and by the time we get back I doubt anyone will want to wait a long time for dinner.

So I’m thinking, premake most of the meals, freeze them, then pop em’ in the oven when we get back. That and pasta. Everyone loves pasta right?

Toss in some sausage or make a meat sauce. Bam. There they go. And if they don’t like it? Too bad.

Just kidding. They can have cereal or something.

How I’m going to make all these meals more 5 star will really be the problem though, since my kitchen is well… Not so great in this place.

We have an old stove oven that has a mind of it’s own, and hardly any running water. Awesome! It shall be a test of my culinary skills!

And hey, I don’t have to come up with a name for the food I make there! I’ll just tell them it’s food and if they don’t like it too bad.

I’m so sweet right?

While I would like to say these enchiladas would be great to make for the shoot, I feel like the tortillas will get too soggy before I use them. Although, maybe not…. Possible menu item? Yes.

These enchiladas came about as I had a bunch of leftover braised pork belly to use up. If you’ve never had pork belly I strongly urge you to give it a try. It’s very fatty, but absolutely delicious. Fat = flavor right?

I fell in love with it when I had some on a flatbread at a local restaurant about a year ago. I honesly thought it was such a foreign type of meat. I mean, I’ve eaten a lot of different animals but to cook with it seemed so upscale and fancy. Then I found it at Whole Foods for $4.99 a lb. Yeah, so expensive and fancy right?

Hey, it was a pleasant surprise for me!

Enough with my blabbering, here’s the recipe you guys.

Pork Belly Enchiladas with Tomatillo Blanco Sauce

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

 

For the Filling

1 lb cooked braised pork belly

2 avocados

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 jalapeno

3 oz goat cheese

cilantro

garlic salt to taste

 

For the Tomatillo Blanco Sauce

2 tbls butter

2 tbls flour

1 1/4 cup milk, hot

garlic salt to taste

1/2 jalapeno

1 tomatillo

 

corn tortillas, I used 8

5 oz crumbled queso fresco

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.

 

First make the tomatillo blanco sauce. In a medium saucepan melt the butter over medium heat. Add in the flour and stir continuously until it starts to turn a pale golden color. Slowly whisk in the milk and continue cooking until it starts to thicken. Once thickened season with garlic salt, add in jalapeno and tomatilo and stir to combine.

Next make the filling by combining everything in a blender except the pork belly. Blend until smooth.

Assembly

 

In a baking dish, place enough of the sauce on the bottom to completely cover, so the enchiladas dont stick.

Place some of the pork belly and filling in a tortilla, wrap up like a fajita, and place in the baking dish. Continue until all of the filling is used up.

Spread the rest of the sauce over the top of the enchiladas, sprinkle the cheese on top, and bake for 20 minutes. Then switch to the broiler on high setting until the cheese is golden and crusty.

Serve and enjoy!

5 comments

  1. Howdy very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds
    additionally? I’m happy to search out a lot of helpful information here in the submit, we
    need work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

Leave a Reply

