Epicerie Cafe & Grocery

So I thought it fitting that right after I posted about my Salted Whiskey Chocolate Chip Cookies I should write about the inspiration behind those cookies.

I gave a very brief story behind them in that post, but hey, it’s time for me to get back into the restaurant blogging side of things and tell ya’ll about one of my latest restaurant adventures here in Austin.

Epicerie Cafe & Grocery.

 

I’m not going to lie you guys, Epicerie is just the cutest little French restaurant you will find in Austin. It’s small and hidden away on the corner of North Loop and Woodland Drive.

Now this place is cute, but the service? Well, let me tell you about our experience there.

The style of eating here is like at many cafe/groceries, you walk up to a counter in the front, order your food, then they give you a number and you pick where you want to sit.

Now, I went with some friends so we ordered seperately, and the man taking our order was kind enough to offer to put both of our tickets onto the same number so our food would come out at the same time.

We thanked him, took our numbers and decided to sit in the back patio as it was freezing inside. We patiently waited for about 10 minutes, chatting and having a good time, when out comes my order of gnocchi. We all looked at each other a little confused, as we had an appetizer of charcuterie on our order, so why didn’t that come out first? And where was all of the food?

We sat there for about 10 minutes longer, my food getting cold and noticing that people who had come in after us had gotten their food before us. Now this was strange.

Finally after about 20 minutes of waiting for the rest of our food after mine had come out, we decided to go ask.

I walked up to the counter and asked the person at the front and he quickly went to go check on the rest of our order, and told me to go sit back down.

Who knows what happened to our food, but one of the waitresses quickly came over and apologized several times and told us our food would be right out, and that they would remake my order so it wasn’t cold.

Not only that, but she brought us out 3 giant cookies for us to munch on while we waited for our food, plus free dessert on the house after our dinner. Seriously, I would have waited 3 hours just for those cookies. They were absolutely amazing. Mindblowing. The best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted in my life. Hands down.

(Gnocchi Parisienne)

Now out of all the food I think me and my friends agreed that the charcuterie plate is the way to go. I could’ve eaten just that and would’ve been more than happy. The only thing was they needed to serve it with a little more bread. I’m sorry but 4 pieces of bread with charcuterie ain’t gonna cut it!

 (These are THE cookies i’m talking about)

So would I go back? Hell yeah! I would go back in a heartbeat, just give me the word and I am there.

Despite having to wait for our food a while, the service and food was well worth it.

And I completely understand. Me and my friends have all either been in, or are currently working in the food industry so we all understand that these things happen. Mistakes, messups, it’s a part of life. The best thing a restaurant can do in that situation? Give out amazingly mind blowing chocolate chip cookies and move on.

(Charcuterie Plate)

(Peach Risotto)

Epicerie, you are so worth it. Thank you for a great meal!

(Fried Oyster Sandwich)

Leave a Reply

