The Best Chocolate Cream Pie

 I’m back!

The movie shoot is finally over. Earlier than expected, it took us 6 days to finish shooting everything.

So how did it go? Great!

You all know how much I was kind of dreading this, but I am happy to admit that I was so wrong about how it would go.

In my head I expected the actors to be stuck up and snobby, to not talk to anyone but each other and for it to be hot and sandy and nasty and miserable.

I got one part of that right, the other was completely wrong though. Yes, it was hot and disgusting, sand got everywhere and no matter what you did you were hot and nasty and sticky. Gross I know.

But the actors and everyone who went along? Totally cool!

From day one everyone got along so well, you would’ve thought we had all known each other for a long time. There was no fighting, no annoyance of anyone, just a lot of fun and hanging out.

It felt like the camp experience I never got as a kid.

Exhausting yes, but worth it, definitely. I don’t think anyone really got much sleep but we would all do it again in a heartbeat. In fact no one wanted to leave, we all wanted to stay for a while longer.

I mean, we were all on an island eating great food, having a great time fishing and hanging out, going to the beach, seeing wildlife. It was such a good time.

A lot of hard work was spent actually shooting the movie but it was fun work. In between takes everyone just joked around and talked.

So all in all, I’m glad I was wrong. As stubborn as I can be, I was proven wrong and I have no shame in admitting that.

Now I actually made this pie before we left and I’ve been itching to show it to you all ever since. I mean, this pie is good. Like, the best chocolate chocolate cream pie you will ever have. End of story.

I am very confident in saying that. Why? Well first off, the crust. What’s so special about it? It’s made out of sugar cookie dough. Yes, I went there. Making it with sugar cookie dough was actually an accident, I knew I had some homemade pie dough in the freezer so I pulled out some dough and let it defrost. Little did I know it was actually sugar cookie dough. Best mistake ever? I think so.

Now, the pie itself I flavored with my amazing whiskey caramel chocolate sauce I used from my chocolate croissant bread pudding, Yes. This sauce is made by first making caramel sauce then adding chocolate to it. With the addition of whiskey. Can’t hurt right?

I admit this pie is basically a calling card for diabetes, but hey, you only live once right?

Enjoy!

Chocolate Cream Pie

(Recipe adapted from Emeril Lagasse)

 

Ingredients 

 

sugar cookie dough, rolled out into a pie plate and baked

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

3/4 cup heavy cream

3/4 cup buttermilk

3 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch

Pinch salt

4 egg yolks

For the whiskey caramel chocolate

 

3 ounces good-quality unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup sugar

2 tbls whiskey

1 tbls water

2 tbls butter

2 tbls heavy cream, warm

2 tsp espresso powder

1 tablespoon butter

3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

1 pint heavy whipping cream

3-5 tbls sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbls whiskey

 

 

Directions

 

First make the whiskey caramel chocolate mixture. In a small saucepan combine the sugar, whiskey and water. Cook over high heat and let boil. Don’t stir, just swirl the pan. Continue cooking until starting to turn light golden then take off heat. Add in the butter and cream and stir to combine. Next add in the chocolate and espresso powder and stir until chocolate is melted.

Set aside to cool some.

 

Next, in a small saucepan combine sugar, 3/4 cup heavy cream, buttermilk, cornstarch and pinch of salt, and whisk until smooth. Place over medium-high heat, and bring to a boil, whisking from time to time for the sugar and cornstarch to dissolve and the mixture thickens, about 5 minutes. Continue cooking at a low boil for an additional 5 minutes, whisking constantly.

In a mixing bowl, beat the egg yolks lightly. Pour 1/2 cup of the hot mixture into the egg yolks and whisk thoroughly. Pour the egg yolk mixture into the saucepan and whisk over the heat until thoroughly combined and very thick, 1 to 2 minutes. Pour the mixture into a mixing bowl, and whisk in the chocolate caramel mixture, butter and vanilla. Continue whisking until thoroughly combined (mixture will be very thick). Cover the mixture with plastic wrap placed directly on the surface and refrigerate until cooled to room temperature, about 30 minutes.

Start making your whipped cream. In a stand mixer pour in the heavy cream and start whipping with a whisk attachment until soft peaks form. Add in the sugar, vanilla and whiskey and continue whipping until stiff peaks have formed. Refridgerate until ready to use.

Once the chocolate mixture is cooled down, gently fold in about 1 cup of the whipped cream until smooth. Pour into the prebaked pie crust and top with the rest of the whip cream. Let chill for at least 4 hours.

Garnish with extra chocolate curls, cocoa powder or mint leaves if desired.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

