Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Bruschetta is probably one of my all time favorite comfort foods.

It’s got that bready carby deliciousness going on that is just so hard to resist. Even when I was little I absolutely loved this stuff. I remember going to one of my dads work parties and they had a plate of bruschetta sitting out. I’m pretty sure I ate that whole plate by myself and I was, lets see, probably 6 at the time.

Bruschetta always seemed like such a fancy special occasion food to me as I was growing up as well, we would have it with lasagna or spaghetti on special occasions and I absolutely adored it.

In fact my mom would always make us a birthday dinner for our birthdays and we could pick anything we wanted to eat. What did I always choose? Lasagna and bruschetta. Always.

What can I say? I love bread and cheese!

Just call me queen carbivore. Get it? Carb-ivore? No? Ok.

Bruschetta is so versatile, you can make it any way you like to suit your palate. Want it Greek style? Go with feta and olives. Mexican style? Ground beef, jalapenos and cheese. Seriously do whatever you want with it!

This recipe really speaks to me though as I love goat cheese and tomatoes. The combination goes so perfectly well together, there’s a reason people have been putting them together for so long.

Now enough with my rambling, I have a question for you all. What’s the difference between bruschetta and crostinis?

The answer? As far as I can find they’re really the same thing except that crostinis are usually made with thinner slices of bread. Psh, they’re both amazing in my book though.

Also, do you pronounce it BRU-SHETTA or BRU-SKETTA? I always said BRU-SHETTA but recent findings have been telling me that’s wrong. Who knows!

Enjoy!

Cherry Tomato and Goat Cheese Bruschetta

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

 

Ingredients

1 loaf french bread

olive oil

1 garlic clove

1 pint cherry tomatos

1 tbls olive oil

1/2 yellow onion

garlic salt

balsamic vinegar

6 ounces goat cheese

garlic salt

dried parsley or rosemary

 

Directions

 

Slice french bread into 1 inch slices. Place on a baking sheet lined with foil and brush liberally with olive oil. Place in an oven set to broil on high and let it go until it starts turning golden, watch carefully because it will burn fast! Flip and repeat with other side if you want, not mandatory.

Once bread is golden, take out of the oven and rub a cut clove of garlic all over the bread while it’s still warm. Trust me, this makes a world of a difference in the flavor.

Meanwhile to make the topping, place olive oil, tomatoes, and onion in a small saucepan over medium heat. Let cook until onions and tomatoes are soft and tender, about 8-10 minutes. Add in the balsamic vinegar and cook for another minute. Season with garlic salt to taste.

Combine the goat cheese, parsley/rosemary and garlic salt and mash all together.

To assemble, spread the goat cheese mixture onto each slice of toasted bread, then top it with the tomato mixture. Serve warm.

3 comments

  1. I’ve always said bru-shetta, but my Italian
    friends say traditionally, its brusketta. Theres infinate variations of this but this is my fave, vine toms peeled and diced, fine diced red onions, basil, ground sea salt and pepper, mix together and infuse. (Leave in fridge overnight in a strainer for best results) Use ciabatta bread, slice and chargrill both sides, rub garlic clove ( nice touch by the way you know your stuff) and spoon on the mixture. Nice website too. Try using the strained liquid for something (like a consommee) Maybe freezing it in ice cube tray with olive then putting them in a gazpacho soup, sorry, im going off one one, bye

Leave a Reply

