Banana’s Foster Pudding Parfait

I’m excited about this post.

 

Ever since I made these parfaits a couple of weeks ago I’ve been dying to actually show them to you all.

And yes, that is my admission that some things I post are actually weeks or months old. Which means for me, a lot of times I’ll start making seasonal items months in advance. For instance, I’ve been cooking a lot of hearty comfort foods and fall type foods already, just so I make sure and have some for the fall.

Stew when it’s 100+ degrees out? Psh, I’m cool with that!

So  to give you all a little background on how this dessert came about, it kind of morphed whilst I was making it. At the beginning I was going to make regular ole’ banana pudding, just made with vanilla wafer cups to hold the pudding. Such an interesting plot twist right?

Well, as impatient as I am, I didn’t let the vanilla wafer dough set in the freezer long enough. So what did I make instead of cookie cups? Yup, a mess. Cookie dough everywhere.

Luckily I had kind of expected this to happen so I only tried making a couple of cookie cups first as a tester and saved the rest to make regular cookies on a regular baking sheet. Good idea me.

And while the cookies were baking I had the brilliant idea to make this banana pudding into a banana’s foster pudding by making a delicious banana syrup to go on top.

Best. Idea. Ever.

I am so glad my original plans fell through because this was far better than I could’ve hoped for. Everyone who tried this absolutely loved it and kept asking for more.

I think I hit the jackpot with this recipe.

Oh and I have to mention that these homemade vanilla wafers are to die for. I had friends telling me they couldn’t believe these were homemade vanilla wafers because they tasted so much like the real thing!

Trust Alton Brown you guys. He knows what he’ s doing.

 Enjoy!

 

Banana’s Foster Pudding Parfait

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

 

Vanilla Wafers

(Recipe adapted from Alton Brown)

 

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon aluminum free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

4 ounces unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg

4 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 tablespoon milk

 

Directions

 

 Preheat oven to 350F.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl and set aside. Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes, stopping to scrape down the sides of the bowl after 1 minute. Add the egg and incorporate on medium speed for 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides of the mixer bowl. Add the vanilla extract and milk and blend on low speed for 15 seconds. Add the flour mixture and mix on low speed just to incorporate. Chill the batter in the refrigerator for at least 10 minutes before scooping.

Scoop the batter in teaspoon-sized balls and arrange them on 2 parchment paper-lined half sheet pans, approximately 35 cookies per pan. Use the heel of your hand to slightly flatten each ball. Bake, 2 pans at a time, rotating the pans halfway through the baking, until golden brown, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove the pans to a cooling rack to cool completely before removing the cookies from the pan.

 

 

Pudding

(Recipe adapted from Taste of Home)

 

2-1/2 cups milk, divided

Pinch salt

1/2 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

2 egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon butter

splash of rum

 

Directions

 

Place 2 cups milk and salt in a saucepan. Sprinkle sugar on milk and do not stir; heat over medium-high. Quickly combine cornstarch with remaining milk; add egg yolks and mix well. When milk comes to a full boil, remove saucepan from the heat and stir in cornstarch mixture. Pudding will begin to thicken. Return to the heat and cook for 1 minute. Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla, rum and butter.

 

Topping

 

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 tbls butter, divided

1 tbls water

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp rum

2 bananas, sliced

 

Directions 

Heat 2 tbls butter, brown sugar, and water over medium high heat in a small saucepan. Cook until the brown sugar is dissolved and mixture is bubbling, about 3-5 minutes. Take off heat, stir in 1 tbls butter the vanilla and rum. Stir to combine until the butter is completely melted. Add the banana slices.

 

Assembly

Layer enough vanilla wafers in the bottom of a bowl to cover the bottom. Add in the pudding and top with the banana topping. Garnish with extra vanilla wafers and mint or basil if desired.

Leave a Reply

