Haitian Griot

And it’s back to school!

Today is my first day back at school, first year going full time in college. Scary stuff you guys.

Not really, I’m actually very excited.

 

Each new school year brings the chance of new friendships, new oppurtunities, and hopefully teachers that don’t suck! While maybe you won’t experience all of those things in a semester, it is a chance to start new and become a better person.

I know many people are annoyed with going back to school, mainly highschool and under, and I have to admit there are may times when school just plain sucks, but I shall try and go into it with high hopes!

Today I start off the semester with intro to psych. A class that, to me, sounds pretty interesting. Growing up I always loved psycho killer movies and twisted evil geniuses. I found it so fascinating to think of how they thought and how they justified everything. Is that weird? Maybe it’s just because I grew up with two older brothers, but I never really got into the whole barbie and dollhouse thing. I was a little more, how should I say, over all of that. It wasn’t cool to my brothers but serial killers were!

Psh, totally normal.

Now I can really learn how people think and all of that. How does that not sound interesting?

 Anyway, here’s the story behind this dish.

Griot.

Yes, it sounds like troll food, something straight out of Lord of the Rings, but this stuff is so good. One of my good friends is from Haiti, and she always talked about how in her family whenever they would have a celebration of any kind there would always be griot.

She talked about how amazing it tasted and how it was such a big part of Haitian culture. And of course me being the foodie I am, I was dying to try it when she first mentioned it.

And trust me, when I first tried it at one of her families parties, I understood exactly what she was talking about!

So what is it?

 Basically, griot is marinated, slow cooked, fried pork. It’s not a very hard process, it just takes a little time to develop it’s flavors.

Although this recipe isn’t as good as my friends family makes it, but of course I think people from Haiti just have that special touch.

This recipe is good though. One tip I suggest; since the onions are slow cooked in an acidic juice, I recommend trying them before eating them, and after frying the pork do not put it back in the juices. Let it keep it’s crunchy outside.

 Enjoy!

Haitian Griot

(Recipe adapted from Cooking Sens)

 

Ingredients

 

2 lbs pork shoulder, cubed

1 cup grapefruit juice

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 red onion, sliced

1 yellow onion, sliced

salt & pepper

canola oil for frying

 

Directions

Combine the pork, juice, garlic, onions and salt and pepper in a bag. Shake to mix and combine, then let marinade overnight.

Once marinaded, place everything in a dutch oven and cook for 1 1/2-2 hours at 350F.

Once done cooking, let cool slightly.

Pour oil into a saute pan, enough to fully coat the bottom. Heat over high.

Dry the pieces of meat with a towel, then fry in the oil until golden brown and crispy. Remove and and repeat with remaining meat.

Serve with rice and enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

