Blackberry Almond Cobbler

I want to get something out of the way right fast.

It will only take a few moments, I promise.

Chill out about Miley Cyrus. There. I said it.

Now, I don’t mean that I’m supporting her. Not at all, but she has been overhyped and overtalked lately, and yes I know I’m contributing to talking about her, but I just have to say one thing on the issue.

Whether she started out as a disney star or started out as a playboy model, no one wants to see that. I mean seriously, I don’t care who did it, I just rather would have not seen that.

And that is all I am going to say.

 Moving subjects!

I recently got this totally awesome cast iron skillet from Home Goods and I am absolutely loving it. In my opinion a cast iron skillet is a necessity in the kitchen. If you don’t have one, please do yourself a favor and go buy one. You will thank yourself.

Not only are they amazing for cooking on the stovetop, but many a southern women will tell you it will work wonders with baking as well! Seriously. Place some butter in the skillet, place it in the oven for a few moments to warm it up and melt the butter, then put biscuit dough or cornbread in it and bake it. You will never go back to baking either on a baking sheet again.

It is that good. It gives baked goods a nice crispy edge you can’t get from a baking sheet.

It’s like making pizza in a brick oven as opposed to a cold pan that goes into a traditional oven. They are a completely different species.

 I would highly recommend checking out Home Goods for pots, pans, and any kitchen utensils you have as well. If you’ve never been, you need to go.

I’m not being sponsored by them whatsoever, these thoughts are completely my own, I just am very passionate about this store you guys. I can’t go in there without buying something, it’s a bit of a bad habit…

But the prices! Oh my goodness, the prices are amazing! This cast iron skillet? $10 bucks. Yeah. What a great deal!

 And right after I had gotten this skillet I went by whole foods and blackberries were just calling to me. I had the biggest craving for a hot delicious blackberry cobbler.

And already having almonds at home I thought, why not throw some in there. I don’t know where almonds aren’t good.

Voila. Deliciousness awaits.

 Enjoy!

Blackberry Almond Cobbler

(Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

 

Ingredients

 

1 stick butter, melted plus 2 tbls

1 1/4 cup sugar, plus more for sprinkling

1 cup flour

1 cup milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

1 pint blackberries

1/2 cup slivered almonds

 

Directions

 

Preheat oven to 350F.

Place the 2 tbls butter in the cast iron skillet and place in the oven to melt. Don’t do it too early during the process otherwise the butter will start to brown!

Melt 1 stick butter in a microwavable dish. Pour sugar and flour into a mixing bowl, whisking in milk and extracts. Mix well. Then, pour in melted butter and whisk it all well together.

Now rinse and pat dry the blackberries. Pour the batter into the cast iron skillet. Sprinkle blackberries and almonds over the top of the batter; distributing evenly. Sprinkle sugar over the top.

Bake in the oven for 1 hour, or until golden and bubbly. If you desire, sprinkle an additional teaspoon of sugar over the cobbler 10 minutes before it’s done.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

