Fluffy Silver Dollar Pancakes

Hello hello!

I hope everyone had a great three day weekend. I sure did.

I spent mine with my mom for the most part. It being her birthday, I of course wanted her to have the very best birthday if I could. We didn’t do anything too crazy, just kind of chilled out around the house, watched some movies, and had some really great food. Really, you don’t need much more than that. Just a break from the monotonous day to day chores we all suffer through.

And what a weekend to do that. College football started back up, UT all the way you guys, and though it was too hot to go outside, we completely ignored that to eat some homemade tamales and chili. A pretend snowday, eh? Psh, like you need an excuse to eat hearty mexican food here in Texas!

Sunday we really celebrated my mom’s birthday, the whole family got together and we enjoyed a delicious dinner of grilled steaks, mashed potatoes, and carrots. My dad and brother were the grill masters, while I whipped up everything else. Including one of my mom’s favorite cakes! Chocolate with whipped cream frosting and a marshmallow center.

I think she had a good birthday, and because I know she reads this, I hope you have many many more better and better birthdays mom! I love you!

Ok, now onto the pancakes! When I catered for my brothers movie I made these pancakes one morning. I’m pretty sure these gave me credibility as a chef to all of the actors.

Seriously, they talked about these pancakes so much, saying they were the best they’ve had, they’re so fluffy and delicious!

The great thing about just classic pancakes is that you can do whatever you want with them. Add in chocolate chips, pecans, experiment with different syrups, or just enjoy them on their own! They are a blank canvace for your taste buds.

I think they liked them and I think ya’ll will too.

Enjoy!

Silver Dollar Pancakes

(Recipe adapted from All Recipes)

 

Ingredients

 

vegetable oil or bacon grease

1 1/2 cups AP flour

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tbls sugar, plus more for sprinkling

1 1/4 cup milk

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

 

Directions

 

Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Whisk the egg and combine with the the milk and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just to combine.

Heat the vegetable oil or bacon grease in a large pan. Spoon the batter into small circles on in the pan and cook for about 30 seconds to 1 minute, until you see bubble in the batter. Flip and cook on the other side until golden.

Serve with butter and syrup and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

