Vegetarian Pumpkin Chili

Is anyone else ready for cooler weather?

I mean, I’m all for the heat, but these 100+ days are starting to get to me. Yesterday I was driving home from class in the middle of the day and I swear I could not get home fast enough. As if driving home from a boring lecture doesn’t put you in a bad enough mood, add in suppressing heat, and you’re a road rage bomb just waiting to happen.

Sorry people! It’s not you… it’s me!

 

So you know, when you get home from class and you’re in a horrible mood because it’s so hot out, what do you make for dinner? Chili. Yeah, hot and spicy comfort food. Perfectly logical.

This is Texas after all.

Despite the heat I think me and my mom have made more comfort food this past week than we usually do when it is cold out. Tamales, chili, soup, pasta. Comfort food city at our house!

But hey, is there really any bad time for hearty comfort food? Think about people in India or Mexico, it could be blazing hot but they still eat super spicy and hot foods, and they don’t seem to mind.

I say if you crave it, make it.

Those are my words to live by.

And hey, at least this chili is healthy! Pumpkin is such a super food it’s got vitamins, minerals, and fiber to keep your regular throughout all of those unhealthy holiday meals that will be here before you all know it. And don’t even get me started on all of the immune boosting properties this stuff has. Want to reduce your risk of cancer? Pumpkin! Want to lower your cholesterol? Pumpkin!

Ok ok, I’ll stop preaching about the wonders of pumpkin for a little bit and let ya’ll enjoy this delicious chili. Your mouth and body will thank you.

Enjoy!

Vegan Pumpkin Chili

(Recipe adapted from The Skinny Fork)

 

Ingredients

 

2 small onions, or 1 large

4 large carrots, peeled and chopped

2 tbls olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

30 ounces black beans

15 ounces tomato sauce

2 tbls tomato paste

15 oz pumpkin puree

2 tbls chili powder

1 tbls red pepper powder

2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp cinnamon

salt and pepper to taste

green onion for garnish, optional

Directions

 

Heat the olive oil in a big pot over medium high heat. Add the onions and carrots and let cook until onions start to turn translucent, about 5-8 minutes. Add in garlic and continue cooking for one minute longer.

Next add in all of the canned ingredients and stir to combine evenly. You may need to add water depending on how thick it is, I ended up putting in about 2 cups of water.

Add in your spices, stir to combine, and let simmer over low heat for about 1 hour to let all of the ingredients marry together.

Serve with cornbread and enjoy!

8 comments

  1. Made this for thanksgiving and it was DELICIOUS and really easy to make. Also the yummy pumpkin flavor made it feel like a perfect thanksgiving dish (my turkey-eating family loved it too). So glad I found this on Pinterest. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

