Watermelon Rose Carving

So this post is just a tad late.

 I carved this watermelon way back during the beginning of summer and the poor thing just got neglected… until now.

In school, during fruit fabrication day, our teacher taught us how to carve a rose in a watermelon. More like showed us anyway, but ever since I had been itching to try it out. It didn’t look that hard.

Well this is what happened. Not too bad for a first try I suppose. And really, it’s not that hard. I keep trying to think of a way to describe how you do this, but you just need to see it happen.

So here’s the video I followed along with while doing this. I watched my teacher carve a rose, but I still wanted that extra assurance I was doing it right at home, and now ya’ll can do it too!

And just because summer is over and watermelon’s won’t be around as much, just remember halloween is coming up soon and you can always carve them!

5 comments

  1. Sarah, Thanks for stopping by my blog. Little known fact – I grew up in a suburb of Austin. 🙂 Always nice having an Austinite visit my blog.
    As for watermelon carving…I’m slightly scared of knives especially since breaking one in Austin while pumpkin carving. I’m glad you are obviously a skilled hand at this seeing your first time trying worked out so well.

  2. Great job! If this is your first try I’d love to see your 9th or 10th! I always tell my students (I teach Thai fruit and vegetable carving here in San Diego at San Diego Continuing Ed. – sandiegofruitcarving.com) that it takes about 5 to 10 melons to start really getting a “feel” for the angle and depth of your knife. Carving can be especially challenging for people to learn because a big part of it is learning to think in “3-D”…a little tricky 🙂 Your petals are evenly spaced and the angle of your knife is perfect. If you come in for the second cut (the second cut is the cut that creates the bottom of the petal) higher…right at the edge…your petals will have a more natural and thin look and you’ll like the result. I think you’re doing great, and I hope you keep practicing! 🙂 Happy carving! Laura Lynn.

Leave a Reply

