Raw Chocolate Pecan Cookies

I once heard a joke I thought was pretty funny, and in my experience, pretty accurate.

You ready? Don’t hate me.

How do you know if someone’s a vegan? Don’t worry they’ll tell you.

It’s funny right? No harm to any vegans or vegetarians out there, it’s just a simple joke, I’m cool with all of you. But seriously, I love this.

Now these cookies are both raw and vegan. So naturally you could eat the whole batch and not gain anything because it’s all healthy, right? I’ll go with that.

I actually find the concept of eating raw to be very interesting to me. While I’m not sure I could ever live on a raw, or even vegan diet, the idea of eating raw or making some meals raw is really brilliant. It’s really not anything new though, in fact it’s actually very old.

How did people eat before they invented fire? Before they started cooking everything? They ate everything raw. They ate food as it is in it’s natural form. Back then food was a form of sustenance, a way of life as it truly is, and I’m sure they really enjoyed it. But in the foodie world that we live in today where you have food blogs, magazines, tv stations, and chefs and restaurants all over the world constantly recreating food and transforming it into all sorts of delicious concoctions, I feel like raw food is a completely simple yet underrated way of enjoying food. We spend so much time transforming food from it’s original state into something completely different in flavor and texture, we forget what some foods are like just by themselves.

As a food enthusiast, or “foodie” if you will, enjoying food as it is is perfect. It just feels right.

And while yes I will have arguments that, “You’re changing these raw foods to make something else for these cookies”, my main point is that I love the idea of raw food. I think, as an aspiring chef, the concept is like a challenge and a great way to celebrate food. Take food as it is naturally and make something delicious. Enjoy each food as it is. Celebrate it. Appreciate it.

Because who knows, in the future we may be eating box foods only and never get the chance to eat real food. It could happen.

These cookies are seriously amazing though! Check em’ out!

Enjoy!

Raw Chocolate Cookies

(Recipe adapted from Elana’s Pantry)

 

Ingredients 

½ cup Medjool dates, pits removed

1 cup walnuts or pecans

3 tablespoons cacao powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt

 

Directions 

Throw everything into a food processer and pulse until a dough forms.

Remove from the processor, roll into little balls, (it will be sticky!) and serve!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

