Pumpkin Spice Latte Scones

Because we really need another pumpkin recipe.

Honestly, pinterest, tumblr, twitter, foodgawker, every food site has been bombarding me with pumpkin recipes! Pumpkin this pumpkin that. It’s almost exhausting.

Which recipe do you choose? There’s at least 10 recipes for the same thing, so which is the best?

Before I really begin offending anyone, I have to say I do love pumpkin. Like a lot.

I’m just saying what needs to be said.

 Oh and now it’s story time!

This one I always loved, you see, I don’t really take shortcuts while i’m in the kitchen. I don’t usually use the recipes on packages… except I do this with pumpkin pie. It’s great, why change what ain’t broken?

Well, I once dated this guy who absolutely loved pumpkin pie. It was his favorite thing to eat, and he always asked me to make it for him because my pumpkin pie was just better than anyone else’s, or so he would say.

I always told him I spent so long making it and that it was a secret recipe, and he went along with it.

That orange can is my secret.

These are the little secrets you can have while being the chef. Sneakery in food is so deviously unharmfully awesome. Imagine the possibilites you can sneak into food without people knowing it…. Not giving ya’ll any bad ideas I hope though.

 And just a quick little fun fact about pumpkins, the name originates from the greek word “pepon”, which translates into “large melon”. I like that name better.

 Anyway, after buying several cans of canned pumpkin because I’m too lazy to make my own puree, and everyone says it tastes exactly the same anyway, I finally decided to make these scones.

And they delivered exactly like I hoped.

Although they were more moist and cakey than traditional scones due to the extra moisture, they were still delicious and gone way before I was ready for them to be.

 Enjoy!

Pumpkin Spice Latte Scones

(Recipe adapted from Life in Beantown USA)

Ingredients 

2 cups all-purpose flour

½ cup packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

1 tsp espresso powder

6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into small cubes

½ cup canned pumpkin

3 tablespoons heavy cream

1 large egg

 

Glaze

about 1 cup powdered sugar

about 2 tbls milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp espresso powder

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 425F.

In a large bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, spices, and espresso powder. Add the butter pieces and cut in using your fingers or two knives until the texture resembles coarse cornmeal, with the butter pieces no large than small pieces.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, heavy cream, and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and form the dough into a ball. Pat the dough out onto a lightly floured surface into a circle about 1-inch thick. Using a knife, or a cookie cutter, cut into 8 equal wedges or circles. Place wedges onto prepared baking sheet. Bake for 14-16 minutes until light brown.

To make the glaze just combine everything in a bowl and stir. If it is too thin just add more powdered sugar, if it’s too thick add more milk.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

