Roasted Corn Chowder

If there is one thing I am known for among my friends and family, it’s that I get cold very easily. I am almost always cold. Unless I am actually standing in 100 degree weather and there is no wind, I am cold.

But add in a little breeze? I’m cold.

I could be sweating hot then go inside to an air conditioned building that’s, let’s say, 75 degrees, and I get cold. I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

 

 Which is why for Christmas and my birthday I am almost always overloaded with gifts of sweaters and electric blankets. It’s pretty awesome.

I’m pretty used to being cold, but sometimes I get that really chilled to the bone cold and I start craving hot comfort food like no one’s business.

That’s what happened with this soup. It was a 100 degree day outside, but in my psychology class I was absolutely freezing. I really couldn’t concentrate. All I could think about was a giant bowl of hot corn chowder. Is that weird?

My dreams finally came true though. It was delicious.

And of course for a fun fact. What’s the differende between soup and chowder?

Chowder is usually a creamier base and thicker, whereas soup is usually more of a broth base and lighter.

Enjoy!

Roasted Corn and Gruyere Chowder

(Recipe adapted from The View From the Great Island) 

Ingredients 

3 medium white potatoes, cubed

1 bay leave

1/2 tsp rosemary

1/2 tsp thyme

1 tsp salt

1 tbls olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbls butter

2 tbls flour

1 1/4 cups milk**

4 large cobs of corn

1 tsp paprika

1 1/2 cups shredded gruyere

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 450F.

Cut the corn kernels from the cob.

Place corn kernels on a foil lined baking sheet and roast for about 15-18 minutes, stirring occasionally, long enough to char on the outside. Set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot over medium high heat. Add in the onion and cook until translucent, about 8-10 minutes. Add in the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

Add in the butter and flour and cook for about 2 minutes until the butter is completely melted and the flour has time to cook some. Stir in the milk and add the potatoes, bay leaf, rosemary, thyme and salt. Cook until the potatoes are tender then add in the corn and paprika.

Add in more milk if it’s too thick.

Add in gruyere a little bit at a time until melted and thoroughly mixed in.

Finally add in the corn kernels and cook until the corn is warm.

Smash with a potato smasher until the potatoes are mostly mashed, or until desired consistency.

Taste and season with salt and pepper to taste.

One comment

Leave a Reply

