Turkey and Fig Meatballs

I’m finally starting to feel a little more normal after ACL.

I’ve gotten over that first initial exhaustion of being out in the hot sun all day for several days, lack of sleep, and lack of food.

 Let me just say though, ACL weekend #1was amazing.

I had so much fun.

This was my first time ever going to ACL so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but for a first time I got treated pretty well. Of course i’ve been to SXSW and Warped Tour before, but those two festivals are completely different.

Aside from the many differences though, there was one main difference that made this experience completely different for me, and that was because I went with the Austin Chronicle.

 I don’t remember if I have mentioned before, but I am currently an intern with the Austin Chronicle, so I was able to get media passes to go back in the little VIP media booth where all the other radio stations, papers, news place etc. set up and interviewed the bands.

Pretty awesome.

I didn’t fangirl over a lot of the bands, I figured they don’t want to be bothered by people when they are back in the VIP area, but I did get to see so many amazing bands and artists just hanging out back there which was pretty awesome.

 The one band I did get to meet was Grouplove, as a website I do contributing writing for, B-Sides, was doing an interview with them. Totally cool people.

And let me tell ya’ll about Phoenix. They were the talk of ACL in my opinion. They were amazing. They’ll probably be my new favorite band for quite a while after that last concert, seriously they blew me away.

 Anyway, I could talk all day about how awesome ACL was, but I’ll let ya’ll get back to your busy lives and leave you be with this recipe.

FAIR WARNING.

I completely forgot to write the ingredients I used to make these…. So, this is a guesstimation of what I used. I’m pretty sure I remembered everything and in the right quantities, but I’m just giving ya’ll a heads up.

Enjoy!

Turkey and Fig Meatballs

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

2 lbs ground turkey

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp rosemary

1 tsp thyme

1/2 onion, finely diced

1/2-1 cup bread crumbs

1 tsp garlic salt

2 eggs

8 oz. dried figs

1/4 cup olive oil, divided

2 tsp fig balsamic vinegar, or regular, divded

1 sprig rosemary 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large bowl combine the ground turkey, seasonings, bread crumbs, 2 tsp balsamic vinegar, and eggs together until well combined. If too wet add more bread crumbs.

In a large braiser heat 2 tbls olive oil over medium high heat.

Shape the meat into balls and let cook in olive oil just until it browns. Do this in batches if needed.

Once all the meatballs are browned, place all of them back in the pan, add in the remaining olive oil, figs, and rosemary sprig and place in the oven. Let cook for about 30-40 minutes, until the middle is no longer pink and it’s fully cooked through.

Serve immediately.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

