Pumpkin Pie Stuffed Cinnamon Pate A Choux

This past week has been…stressful to say the least. It’s that time of year when midterms you completely forgot about creep up on you and you start freaking out just a tad.

Ok, maybe it’s not that bad. 

I did have a midterm this week, plus a term paper, but that really wasn’t what was stressing me out. It was more of my side jobs that I got nervous about. 

See, I started freelance writing for another website called B-Sides. Nothing too fancy, but it’s a great way to start better developing my writing skills and start building up a portfolio, aside from just this website. So while it’s unpaid, I still get nervous about trying to make my writing as perfect as can be. After all why do something if you aren’t going to do it well?  I get so self conscious about my writing I end up stressing myself and out and I begin doubting everything I write. Which ends up resulting in me getting writers block so I end up staying awake until 2 A.M. writing, then waking up at 5 A.M. to fix my errors. I bring it on myself really. 

So this week I had several articles to write about for them, plus midterms to study for. Basically, this past week resulted in stress and lack of sleep. 

And to make a long story short, these little pumpkin gems are the most perfect treat after a stressful week. 

 Enjoy!

 

Pumpkin Pie Stuffed Cinnamon Pate A choux

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

For the Filling

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2-1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 cup heavy cream

3 tbls sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

 

For the Pate a Choux

1/2 cup water

1/2 stick butter

pinch of salt

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 tsp ground cinnamon

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 425F.

For the filling. 

Beat the pumpkin puree and cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add in the the spices and continue beating until thoroughly combined and smooth. Add in 1/2 cup powdered sugar and beat until combined. Add in more if it’s too runny.

Meanwhile, whip the cream, vanilla, and sugar until stiff peaks.

Gently fold the whipped cream into the pumpkin cream cheese mixture until combined.

Place in fridge for at least 3 hours, or until ready to use.

 

Meanwhile, for the pate a choux, bring the water, butter and salt to a boil. Once boiling, add in the flour and cinnamon and stir rapidly until combined and the dough forms into a ball. Let cool for about 5 minutes, then add in the vanilla extract. Add in eggs 1 at a time, thoroughly combining in between each addition, and stirring rapidly so it doesn’t cook.

Put the dough into a piping bag and pipe into little circles on a greased baking sheet. Place in oven and bake until lightly golden, about 15-20 minutes.

 

 

6 comments

  1. Do I add the filling in after the pastry has cooked? I’m going to make these for the first time this week and I don’t see where to add the filling. Thank you for the recipe, these look so tasty.

  2. Do I add the filling in after the pastry has cooked? I’m going to make these for the first time this week and I don’t see where to add the filling. Thank you for the recipe, these look so tasty.

  3. Do I add the filling in after these are done baking? I’m making them this week and it doesn’t say when to add the filling. Thank you for the recipe, these look tasty. =]

    1. Ah, sorry about that! You bake the dough first and the inside will be hollow. I just used a little pairing knife to cut a small hole and pipe the filling in, or you could cut it completely in half and just top it off! Let me know how you like it! 🙂

      1. Tonight was my first time making them, so I’ll probably be making them again just to get used to the dough and how it works. =] But they did turn out great and it was fun to make, the stuffing was especially my favorite part, what a brilliant recipe!

Leave a Reply

