Cheddar and Herb Beer Bread

Lately I’ve been very introverted. If I don’t have to be at class or talk to someone, I most likely won’t make any effort to do so.

I mean, I was homeschooled, I’m used to being at home a lot. I prefer it sometimes. Is that a bad thing?

I can just see myself now, 30 years down the line I’ll be living alone in a cabin in the woods somewhere with a bunch of cats. Cooking and baking my days away in peaceful bliss, all by my lonesome self.

Ok, maybe it won’t be that bad, I do get out somewhat. But, I feel like I really need to kick this bad habit. Just a bit.

But you know, I’ve been somewhat productive! I’ve been learning totally random fun facts! Woo!

Did you know there is a fruit, called Inga Edulis, that tastes like ice cream? Yeah. Mind blown right there. Now if I could have a crate of those shipped to my house please?

I’m a geek…

I know! It happens. But this geek has awesome cheddar and herb beer bread so this geek is happy.

Enjoy!

 

Cheddar and Herb Beer Bread

(Recipe slightly adapted from Half Baked Harvest)

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

4 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp rosemary

1 tsp oregano

1 clove garlic, finely minced

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, plus more for sprinkling on top

12 oz. beer (I used Guinness)

garlic salt

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 375F.

In a large bowl combine flours, sugar, baking soda, salt, herbs and cheese. Stir to combine. Next add in the beer and stir just until mixed.

Pour into a greased loaf pan. Sprinkle with garlic salt and extra cheese and bake for about 45-55 minutes, or until the middle is set.

One comment

Leave a Reply

