Sunday Pot Roast

Monday bloody Mondayyyy!

Wrong day? Woops, my bad.

For some reason that song has been stuck in my head for about 2 weeks now. Everytime I hear, or even think about the word Sunday that chorus line immediately pops into my head.

I suppose it could be worse though, I mean, it is a good song.

This past Sunday was pretty uneventful for me. I really did…. nothing pretty much. Yeah. I slept in, stayed in my pajamas and watched movies all day. Typical white girl day.

I suppose I earned it somewhat though, this past week was filled with tests and stress, then Saturday I went running, hiked over at the Greenbelt, and then went to the gym to finish off my day. Byebye calories!

So I treated myself to being lazy, watching chick flicks, and tossing this roast into the oven and smelling it’s intoxicating deliciousness roast all day.

I can’t really take full credit for this one, it’s one of my mother’s very heavily guided recipes. Thanks mom!

 

Sunday Pot Roast

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin’s mother)

Ingredients

2 lb chuck roast

salt and pepper

olive oil

15 oz tomato sauce

2 tbls balsamic vinegar

1 tsp thyme

1 tsp oregano

1 clove garlic, minced

1 bay leaf

2 sprigs rosemary

2 large russet potatoes, diced

1 lb pearl onions, peeled

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 300F.

Heat olive oil in a large dutch oven over medium high. Season roast liberally with salt and pepper and brown on both sides, about 5 minutes each side.

Meanwhile mix the tomato sauce, balsamic vinegar, seasonings, garlic, and bay leaf. Pour over the roast and place in the oven for about 2 1/2 hours. After that, take out and place potatoes and onions in as well. Place back in the oven for another 2 1/2 hours.

Remove and enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

