Fudge Brownie, Butterscotch Mousse and Freshly Whipped Cream and some Fun Fun Fun Fest Recaps

Goodmorning everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend? Did anyone else attend Fun Fun Fun Fest?

I was able to go for the first time this year, and it blew me away. Seriously, FFF was ridiculously fun and awesome. The amount of talent that was here was incredible.

Ridiculously awesome. I would break my neck if I tried.

Ridiculously awesome. I would break my neck if I tried.

So I thought I would share just a couple of photos with you guys, if you would like to see more and hear more about the fest, I’ve written recaps for each day herehere  and here. I would honestly probably share more photos with you guys, but wordpress sucks with photos. Or maybe I’m just bad at it. Either, way, check out the links for more pictures!

Let me just say this though, I discovered so many great bands this weekend, saw so many of my favorites inclduding MGMT, (ah I still can’t believe that), and got to meet some really cool people.

But now that the weekend has passed it is time to go back to normalcy once again, catch up on the homework I didn’t do, and deal with everyday problems. Yay…

IMG_1010

MGMT

Ok, I won’t be a downer. I may not have awesome shows to go to everynight,but I got some awesome brownies with butterscotch mousse!

I feel like butterscotch has gotten somewhat of a bad rap. People tend to associate it with your grandma’s hard candies, as something not very desirable. I don’t understand that though. I mean, it’s basically caramel just using brown sugar instead of white. It’s delicious. Trust me, try it instead of caramel on ice cream or as a mousse on brownies, hint hint, and you’re golden.

 Enjoy!

Fudge Brownie, Butterscotch Mousse and Freshly Whipped Cream

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients 

1/2 cup butter

2 cups sugar

2/3 cup cocoa powder

4 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp espresso powder

pinch of salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips

8 oz cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 cup butterscotch sauce, recipe follows

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup heavy cream

3 tbls sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

pecans for garnish

 

Directions 

Preheat oven to 350F.

For the brownies, melt the butter in a medium sauce pan. Once melted, add in the sugar and cocoa powder. Stir to combine, then add in vanilla extract. Next add in the eggs and stir to fully incorporate. Add in espresso powder, salt, baking soda, and flour. Stir just to combine, don’t overbeat. Fold in chocolate chips.

**Bake for 20-25 minutes.

For the butterscotch mousse, beat the cream cheese well. Add in butterscotch sauce and vanilla and beat to fully mix together, then add in the powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time until desired consistency.

For the whipped cream, pour heavy cream into a mixer with a whisk attachment. Beat until soft peaks, then add in sugar and vanilla. Continue beating until it reaches stiff peaks.

I baked my for about 23 minutes and they were very underbaked, but that’s how I like brownies. Super fudgy and gooey, so just keep baking at 2 minute intervals if you want more cooked brownies.

Butterscotch Sauce

(Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup packed dark or light brown sugar (I used dark)

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon  flaky sea salt (or 1/4 teaspoon regular salt), plus more to taste

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, plus more to taste

Directions

Melt butter in a medium heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium heat. Add the sugar, cream and salt and whisk until well blended. Bring to a very gentle boil and cook for about five minutes, whisking occasionally.

Remove from heat and add one teaspoon of the vanilla extract, stirring to combine. Dip a spoon in the sauce and carefully taste the sauce (without burning your tongue!) to see if you want to add additional pinches or salt or splashes of vanilla. Tweak it to your taste, whisking well after each addition.

Leave a Reply

