Fig and Nutella Ice Cream

I happen to love figs.

Fig jam, fig pie, fig ice cream.

Anyway you make it, that’s the way I want it! Anyway you make it. 

 Cheesy? Psh, never.

I think my love for figs began as a child learning from my mother. I can distinctly remember my mom saying she loved fig jam and at the time I had no idea what a fig even was. It was a weird and scary fruit and I didn’t want to try it. Then one day I tried the jam my mother loved so much and it was love at first bite.

Since then on I have been in love with figs in every form and I covet the fruity taste. Eat them with a little goat cheese or honey? Mmm I’m in.

So when I was making this ice cream it was no surprise I was practically drooling just anticipating the first taste. Figs are great but when paired with nutella in an ice cream? It transforms them and takes them completely over the top.

So for a different holiday treat I recommend you give this a shot.

Enjoy!

 

Fig and Nutella Ice Cream

(Recipe adapted from Happy Yolks)

Ingredients 

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

1/3 cup sugar

3 eggs yolks

1 lb black mission figs, roughly chopped

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tbls whiskey

1 tbls balsamic vinegar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup nutella

 

Directions 

For the ice cream base, place the milk and cream over medium heat in a saucepan. In a metal bowl whisk together the egg yolks and sugar until color lightens up.

Once the cream is warm and just starting to bubble at the edges, start tempering the egg yolks with the milk by pour a couple of drops into the egg yolk mixture at a time whisking continuously, slowly so the eggs don’t cook. Do this until about half of the mixture is incorporated then pour all of it back into the saucepan. Cook over medium heat, whisking continuously, until it begins to thicken slightly.

Pour back into the metal bowl and let cook for about 15 minutes before placing plastic wrap over the mixture, right on top of the mixture so it doesn’t form a skin, and refridgerating for about 2-3 hours.

Meanwhile, combine figs, brown sugar, whiskey and balsamic vinegar in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Let cook down for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, softening the figs and letting all of the flavors mellow together. Next, add in the vanilla extract and take off heat. Let cool for about 15 minutes before placing in the fridge to chill more.

Once everything is chilled, pour the ice cream base into your ice cream maker and freeze according to directions. Once ice cream is done, add in the fig mixture and nutella right before you turn the machine off, so everything gets evenly incorporated.

Let freeze overnight and enjoy!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

