Wild Rice and Lentil Casserole

So here is this recipe. I actually made this for the first time months ago, took pictures of it, was all ready to post about it, but then it didn’t happen.

Why you may ask? Because I am technologically unsavvy.

 I remember it vividly, I had typed up the directions and ingredients and was on my way to post it, when I tried uploading the pictures from my camera and I couldn’t find them!

I was sure I had taken pictures of it, I remember asking my mom if she remembered me taking pictures of it, neither of us could figure it out.

Well months later I think I figured out why. See, all of my pictures usually go into one folder on my camera, and for whatever reason, those pictures ended up going in another folder. And of course by that time I had already cleaned my camera of all of the pictures. So those pictures are no more.

But that’s ok. Making this recipe over wasn’t a big deal. I ate probably this whole thing, again, but it’s healthy! It works itself out!

 

Enjoy!

 

Wild Rice and Lentil Casserole

(Recipe adapted from Eat Drink Better)

Ingredients

 

3 cups dark vegetable or chicken broth or water

2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

3/4 cup brown rice (or wild rice blend)

3/4 cup lentils

2 carrots, chopped

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

8 oz mushrooms

½ tablespoon minced garlic

1 can diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon black pepper (or more, to taste)

2 tsp salt

1 tbls cumin powder

1 tsp yellow mustard powder

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a large saute pan heat the oil over medium high heat. Add onion and carrots and saute for about 5 minutes. Add in garlic and mushrooms and let cook for 2 minutes longer. Then add in the lentils, rice and tomatos. Add in seasonings and stir to combine.

Place in oven and let bake for 1 – 1 hours and 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

