Orange Honey Brussel Sprouts and Sweet Potatoes

Do you love sweet potatoes and or brussel sprouts? Are you the only one in your family that does?

Do you suffer from not being able to have these delicious delicacies on your Thanksgiving table each other because of that?

Well my friends, this recipe is for you.

 I have to admit that when I made this recipe I was rather worried no one in my family would eat it. None of them being very big fans of either, I’ve been trying to cook them in new ways for them to like it.

I could personally eat both of them just plain, steam em’ up and I’ll eat it all! I am very aware I am weird for this, though.

This recipe, you don’t just have my word for how good it is, but also my brothers, my moms, and my dads. As my dad put it when eating it, “I’m not a big fan of sweet potatoes or brussel sprouts, but this is actually really good!” 

There you have it folks. This recipe is man approved.

 Now you can have this on your Thanksgiving table and no one has to suffer.

And on a side note, yes you can eat the stems from brussel sprouts. I personally love them, if you don’t like them however, just take them out. It’s completely up to your personal preference.

Enjoy!

Orange Honey Brussel Sprout and Sweet Potatoes

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

2 large sweet potatoes, diced

16 oz brussel sprouts, or enough to be equal with amount of sweet potatoes, cut in half

1 tbls olive oil

juice and zest from an orange

2 tbls low sodium soy sauce

2 tbls honey

1 clove garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

First, set a large pot of water to boil. Par-boil the sweet potatoes and brussels sprouts, not too much, a little before fork tender.

In a large saute pan heat the oil over medium high. Once the veggies are done par-cooking, transfer to the saute pan with oil, careful of water and oil, they don’t mix very well but mine didn’t cause much trouble.

Let cook until browned on sides.

In a small bowl whisk together the orange juice, soy sauce, honey, garlic, and any other seasonings you like.

Once the veggies are done browning, take off heat and pour over the dressing.

Serve hot.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

