Rosemary Cherry Almond Pie

Happy Thanksgiving Eve everyone!

Are you ready to have the feast of your life? To eat more food than your stomach can handle and then eat some more? To bring your inner fat kid to life for this one day of gorging yourself into a blissful food coma?

 I know I sure am! Today is the day to start prepping and getting everything ready and already I am hungry. Pies going into the oven, the getting ready of any casserole that is possible without it getting soggy while the turkey brines.

I love Thanksgiving.

I think all of this food has been messing with my judgement as well, after I took these pictures of this pie all I could think was, “really? What were you thinking?”

Maybe I’m just being hard on myself but I was very much disappointed with my photography of this pie. It’s such a delicious pie it deserves only the best! But no doubt, I had to share this pie with you all.

And also get feedback. You see, only me and my dad ate this pie. Everyone else tried it but it didn’t completely win them over. Why not? It wasn’t because they just thought I did horrible with it, it was because I incorporated two things that the rest of the family doesn’t care for.

Cherry pie, and rosemary.

My mom doesn’t like cherry pie and my brother doesn’t like rosemary.

Accidental lack of thought on my part, or complete genius to get more pie? The world will never know!

I personally loved it however, the rosemary went amazing with the cherry flavor and the almonds added an extra crunch and flavor to the pie that’s very much unexpected.

So in case you were thinking of making a cherry pie for Thanksgiving, why not throw in some rosemary and almonds in as well? Unless of course your family doesn’t like it, in which case, I wouldn’t judge you if you ate the whole pie yourself! It’s only one day a year.

Enjoy!

Rosemary Cherry Almond Pie

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 recipe double pie crust, recipe here

**24 ounces frozen cherries

2 tbls whiskey

1 cup sugar, plus more for sprinkling

1 tsp rosemary

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 lemon, juice

1 tbls corn starch

1 cup toasted slivered almonds

heavy cream for brushing

 

Directions 

Preheat oven to 350F.

Roll our your pie crust and fit half into a pie plate. Weigh it down with beans or any pie weights and bake for ten minutes. Place the other side of pie crust in the fridge for now.

Meanwhile, in a large saucepan combine cherries, whiskey and sugar over medium heat. Let the sugar melt and the cherries cook down while the pie crust is baking.

Once the pie crust is done, spread the almonds evenly over the bottom. Set aside.

After the cherries have been cooking for a bit and everything is combined, add in the cornstarch and cook for an additional five minutes, or until it begins to thicken some.

Finally add in the vanilla, lemon juice and rosemary, stir to incorporate evenly, then spread over the almonds in the pie crust.

Top with the second pie crust and poke with holes, or slice with a knife, just to let the steam out. Brush with the heavy cream and sprinkle with extra sugar.

Bake for about 35-40 minutes or until pie crust is browned.

Let cool completely, then serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

**Notes:If you want a thicker pie I would add more cherries. I use two 12 ounce bags of cherries but you could use two 16 ounce or just buy another bag. I personally liked the thinner pie style but it’s up to you! Just adjust the rest of the ingredients accordingly.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

