French Orange Mousse

Happy Monday everyone.

In case anyone missed it, the winner of the Moonshine Sweet Tea giveaway went away to the lovely miss Sunshine011. Congradulations again!

Not a bad way to start of your holiday season, huh?

So now that we have that out of the way I have a confession… This mousse… It’s a lie.

There. I said it!

So why is it a lie? Well… It didn’t come out as perfectly as I portray it… You see, the mousse actually seperated. It turned into a bowl of delicious orange syrup and fluffy cloud-like pillows of whipped cream. Was it delicious? Oh yes! Very very delicious. Was it traditional and perfect? Did it show off my culinary skills? Well… Not exactly. Looking back, I see I probably shouldn’t have rushed the process and I shouldn’t have worried so much about deflating the egg whites.

Hence, I didn’t mix it thoroughly enough. Is it a bad recipe? Possibly, or possibly not.

So why am I giving it to you?

Well to be honest, I don’t think the recipe is the problem. I think it was my own mistakes. Now, this is my fair warning that this recipe didn’t work out for me the first time, but go ahead and try it out! I know I will be trying it out again to try and redeem myself.

But for now, I will continue eating this seperated cloud and syrup mixture. As Andrew Zimmern always says, “If it tastes good eat it!”

That I shall Andrew, that I shall…

Enjoy!

French Orange Mousse

(Recipe adapted from Citrus: A History)

Ingredients

3 eggs

1 cup granulated sugar, divided

2 cups milk, I used 1 1/2 2% and 1/2 cup heavy cream

The grated peel from 1 orange (carefully washed first, to remove all traces of pesticides) 

1/2 cup orange juice

The grated peel of 1 lemon (also carefully washed) and, separately, the juice therefrom

 

2 cup heavy cream

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup sugar

 

Directions

Separate the yolks from the whites.

Beat the yolks together with half of the sugar for 10 minutes.

Boil the milk in a saucepan for 10-“15 minutes until it is reduced by half, then let it cool. Slowly add the egg yolk mixture, tempering the eggs. Heat the preparation gently, while continuing to beat it steadily to help maintain the foam. Add a pinch of flour, while continuing to whisk. As soon as the mixture has thickened, remove the pan from the heat and let it cool.

Mix in the citrus juices and the grated orange and lemon peel. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, beat the egg whites with a whisk or an electric beater to firmness. Incorporate the other 1/2 cup of the sugar and proceed with the whipping until you have achieved a hard and shiny consistency.

Whip the heavy cream with the sugar and vanilla. Mix in the cooled pale yellow mixture and the egg whites. Set your ensuing orange mousse in the refrigerator for several hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

