Black Eyed Pea Salad

Ah, the old southern tradition. Eat black eyed peas on New Years and it will bring you luck all year long.

I’m not going to completely shoot down this superstition but I have to say, I eat black eyed peas every new year and I don’t think my years have been particularly lucky. I’m not saying my life is horrible, but I mean come on! I haven’t even won the lottery yet! Where is that luck even going?

I’m not going to take a chance not eating them though. I mean, you never know.

 This recipe is actually made all year long in my household as it is healthy and delicious. We like to serve it in lettuce cups, with toasted bread, with tortilla chips, in tacos, really in whatever way we feel like at the moment. It’s one of those versatile recipes that just seems to fit with any meal. Perfect as an appetizer, side dish, or even a vegan main dish. Yeah. It’s vegan. It’s hardcore.

 Enjoy!

 

Black Eyed Pea Salad

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin’s mother)

Ingredients

1 15oz can black eyed peas(rinsed and drained)

1 15oz can white kidney beans(rinsed and drained)

1/2 red onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 bunch cilantro, rough chopped, plus more for garnish

3 tbls olive oil

3 tbls red wine vinegar

1 tbls course ground mustard

1/2 tsp cumin

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

Combine the beans, garlic, onion and cilantro together in a big bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, mustard, cumin, salt and pepper.

Mix everything together thoroughly and either place in refridgerator or serve at room temp. The flavors get better the longer they sit together so I like to make this salad the day before.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

