Orange Ricotta Cheesecake and My New Years Resolutions

The end of the year is almost here. Just one more day before we say goodbye to 2013 and say hello to 2014.

Did you do everything that you wanted to do? Did you achieve and pursure every resolution you made at the beginning of 2013? Looking back at my resolutions, I can honestly say I achieved at least some of my resolutions. Relax a little on the diet? Yeah, a little too much, but you know I did it. Cook and post more? Done. Start culinary school? Yes!

Which leads me into my 2014 resolutions. Honestly, it was really hard for me to think of resolutions this year. Not because there isn’t anything I want to change for 2014 but just because most of the things that I think of when I think about what I really want to do will take, well, quite a while… like into retirement age. It sort of turned into a bucket list rather than just resolutions. So that’s what I did. I spent more time making a bucket list than resolutions. Which is never a bad thing I don’t think but for the sake of New Years I thought I would go ahead and try to think of some good resolutions for 2014.

  1.  Be happier with the little things and the big things. I have a bad habit of talking down and putting off any accomplishment I have done, whether big or small.
  2. Get back into a healthy diet. For 2013 my resolution was to relax more with my diet which I succeeded in doing like an overachiever. So! It’s back to green smoothies, lots of fruits and veggies, and absolutely NO candy. I think I’ve eaten a years’ worth of candy over the holidays.
  3. Make more time for friends and family. This is probably on a lot of peoples’ lists which is good and sad at the same time. Really when it all comes down to it, what’s worth more than our friends and family?
  4. Start cooking and posting more. Every year. This is a food bloggers resolution every year. What can we say though, sometimes life gets busy and it gets hard. Sometimes you have finals and papers due and other obligations all crashing in on you at the same time and you just forget. Owell.
  5. Don’t be that angry person. You know when you wake up and you’re cranky and every little things annoys you. You immediately reach for the coffee and if anyone tries to talk to you you grunt in response letting them get the hint that you don’t want to talk yet. 4 cups of coffee later you’re still in the same mood? Yeah, I need to stop that…

So those are five of my resolutions. Do-able? I think so. Nothing is too out of reach and already I’ve been trying to make game plans for all of them. I’ve realized they are more self improvement than anything but aren’t those some of the best?

Anyway, I made this tiered cheesecake the other day and it was pretty amazing I must say. The ricotta added a slightly less sweet flavor to the cheesecake giving it a less heavy feel to it. The look of it was beautiful though, perfect for a New Years party *hinthint*.

 

Enjoy!

 

Orange and Ricotta Cheesecake

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 1/2 sleeves oreos

4 tbls butter, melted

 

14 ounces ricotta cheese, room temp

8 oz cream cheese, room temp

3/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup milk

2 eggs, rooms temp

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup fresh squeezed orange juice, plus zest from the orange

1/4 cup flour

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

First prepare your springform pans by lining the sides with a foil barrier. Spray the insides without non-stick spray.

Crush oreos finely. Mix together with the melted butter thoroughly, then press into a 6″ and 4″ springform pan.

Meanwhile, beat the ricotta, cream cheese, and sugar together to mix thoroughly. Carefully add in the milk to combine, then the eggs, one at a time mixing just to combine.

Add in the sour cream, vanilla, orange juice and zest, and flour, and mix until just combined. Pour into prepared springform pan. Place the pan into a larger baking dish, such as a casserole dish, and pour hot water into the dish until halfway up the side of the springform pans, you may need to use two different pans for these, making a waterbath.

 Bake for 25-30 mins, check the smaller one and 40-45 mins or until the middle is still slightly wiggly in the middle for the larger.

5 comments

  1. Great resolutions, Sarah, and you really nailed it when you called them bucket-list items. I think of my resolutions as something I’d like to START in the new year, but hopefully continue doing FOREVER. Easier said than done, of course!

    Happy New Year! Your blog just keeps getting better and better. 🙂

    1. Oh that’s a really good way of thinking of it. Ah, thank you so much, that means a lot! Yours as well, the more I read your site the more of a habit it’s becoming haha Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

