Orange Cream Puffs

I know it’s the new year and everyone is wanting healthy recipes, but you know what? Not yet. That can wait!

 Ok, I’ll be completely honest I probably will have some more healthy recipes throughout this year, or at least more savory dishes and less sweets. Sweets are pretty much my one true love and as hard as it is to say goodbye… It has to be done. It’s not the sweets… It’s me. One I have a taste I can’t get enough!

Oh, drama. So you’re probably thinking, well why did you make this Sarah? Why did you make dessert? Well, I actually made this over the holidays during my procrastination time with eating better. I mean, who starts eating healthy around the holidays? Anyway, these were really pretty perfect if I do say so myself. The pate a choux was light and airy, with the cool creamy and light cream filling, leaving the marmalade to add just that touch of sweetness to really put these over the top. It was heaven. And I know you may be thinking the marmalade is not necessary but in all honesty it takes these cream puffs completely over the top.

One note I had with the marmalade though was that when I attempted to make a fresh batch, it didn’t come out too well. I didn’t add water, silly me. So I ended up using some older marmalade I had made way back when and had canned, so feel free to use storebought, I won’t tell. Everyone will just be impressed you made such a beautiful pastry! For presentation I just crumbled some chocolate cookies over a touch of marmalade, then placed the pastry on top. Eh, the plating could be better but it’s alright.

Enjoy!

 

Orange Cream Puffs

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Pate A Choux

1/2 cup water

1/2 stick butter

Pinch salt

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Directions 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In a small saucepan combine the water, butter and salt and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and add the flour all at once and stir it vigorously with a wooden spoon. Cook until the mixture has formed a ball and has a slightly sweaty sheen to it and it has pulled away from the pan. Transfer the mixture to a mixing bowl and let cool for 3 to 4 minutes. The mixture does not have to be cold, just cool enough not to cook the eggs when added. Using an electric mixer or lots of good old-fashioned elbow grease, beat in the eggs 1 at a time. Do not add the second egg until the first is fully incorporated. Add in the vanilla extract and beat for another second to combine.

Transfer the mixture to a pastry bag equipped with a large straight tip and pipe 1-inch balls onto a sheet tray lined with parchment paper. When done dip your finger in water and smooth the top of each ball where the pastry bag released the dough. Be sure to leave at least 1-inch between each of the balls. They grow! Bake in the preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, rotating the tray halfway through the cooking time to insure even cooking. When done, the puffs should be light, airy and dry inside. Cool on a rack.

 

Cream

1 cup heavy cream

1-2 tbls sugar

1 tsp orange rind

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 tsp fresh orange juice

 

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment whip the cream until firm peaks. Add in the sugar, orange rind, vanilla, and orange juice gradually. Mix until incorporated.

Place in a seperate bowl and place in the fridge until ready to use.

 

Orange Marmalade

2 large oranges, sliced

1/4 cup water

1 cup sugar

 

Place the orange slices and sugar in a medium saucepan. Cook down over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture starts to thicken. About 40-50 minutes.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

