Mushroom and Onion Ricotta Crostini’s

Once again I changed my site layout. I can never make up my mind.

If you’ve read a couple of weeks ago the site would’ve looked different, and a couple of months before that it would’ve looked different then too. I seem to never be satisfied with it but I thought this seemed fitting for now. Plus with the banner of a sunset here in Austin taken by yours truly, it seemed only fitting. So, better or worse?

Aside from the initial difference in layout, I also added another tab. The bucket list tab. During the time when you’re supposed to be thinking of resolutions I could only think of bucket list ideas that I know will take my whole life to accomplish but isn’t that somewhat better than just a one year goal?

A lot of the items are traveling, which is something I’ve always wanted to do. Backpack through Europe and eat at the tiny places no one’s heard of. Live like a local in a different country for a while and discover something truly amazing. It is the dream isn’t it… But I felt like it’s a good goal. It at least gives me somethign to work towards. And yes, while a lot of them I won’t even be able to attempt until I’m at least out of school, some I can go ahead and start. Like running a marathon. I officially signed up for the Austin marathon in February and I am so excited. I’ve run 5K’s before but never anything as daring as a marathon, and even if I have to walk most of it I want to do this. I love running and I love running in races, so why not do a completely crazy long marathon while I’m eighteen and in somewhat good shape? There is absolutely no reason for me to put it off so this year, I shall tick it off of my list.

 Anywho, tell me what you think of the new layout and what are your bucket list items. What do you want to do before you die?

Enjoy!

 

Mushroom and Onion Ricotta Crostini’s

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 medium yellow onion, sliced

12 ounces mushrooms, I used cremini, sliced

1-2 tbls olive oil, plus more for bread

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbls balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

 

6 ounces ricotta

garlic salt to taste

1/2 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 baguette, cut in 1/4-1/2″ slices

 

Directions

In a medium sized saute pan, heat 1 tbls of the olive oil and add the onion. Cook down until translucent and starting to turn yellow, about 5-10 minutes. Next add in the mushrooms, add more olive oil if necessary. Let cook down until the onions and mushrooms are soft and very flexible. Once almost done add in the garlic and let cook 1 minute longer.

Once almost done splash in the balsamic vinegar and let cook to reduce a little. Season to taste

Meanwhile combine the ricotta, seasonings and spices thoroughly. Set Aside

Set your oven to high on broil, drizzle olive oil on the baguette slices and toast until golden brown on the outside, watch carefully!

2 comments

  1. Good luck running your marathon! I ran one about two years ago before I had my son. I’m hoping to check another one off of my bucket list soon! These crostinis look delicious! I might have to give them a try for the Superbowl party that I am hosting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

