Beet and Grapefruit Salad with Mint Lime Dressing

You want to know what grinds my gears?

Points if you get that reference.

 Well, for starters bad hair days. I mean, why must the world be so cruel? And so often! What also grinds my gears though, are women who sell themselves short and the guys who let them do that. Sure, it’s not the guys’ fault but most of the time these girls I know are selling themselves short for douchey guys. The guys don’t really care about the girl but they just kind of keep them there. The girls become the backup plan. And you know what? Women are allowing for this to happen. If a guy treats you bad you shouldn’t grovel at his feet, waiting on him hand and foot for him to “love you again”. He doesn’t love you. Bam. Move on. The sooner you move on the better off you will be.

I know first hand that true love and chivalry aren’t dead, but I sure wish there was more of it in this day and age. I look at my parents and my mom always told me, “Don’t ever be with a guy who doesn’t treat you right. Who doesn’t grovel and open the door for you. Be with a guy who would do anything for you.” Now, she never told me to find a guy and make him completely whipped, but when I look at my parents and the way they act with each other it is the cutest thing ever. They are true highschool sweethearts, and they still do those little things everyday for each other that make their relationship work. They hold hands in the car, my dad always opens the door for my mom, offers to take out the trash and truly, one of the cutest things, is their give and take with coffee. It’s a team effort of my mom making the coffee and setting the timer at night and my dad bringing it up to my mom in the morning. It’s a small gesture but it’s things like that that make me realize what a good relationship should be. Give and take. Small things, showing the other you love and care.

Now, you may be wondering where I’m going with this, but the gist of this post is just, don’t settle for someone who doesn’t love you. If you’re a girl, don’t be with a guy that doesn’t appreciate how amazing you are. And the same goes for men. If a woman doesn’t show her love for you, move on. I don’t want to hear your problems anymore about how he didn’t call you back for the thousandth time. We all are.

Enjoy!

Beet and Grapefruit Salad 

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

2 large beets, steamed and sliced thinly

2 large grapefruit, cut in segments

1/4 cup pomegranate seeds

1/4 cup pistachios, chopped

mint lime dressing (recipe below)

Directions

Layer the steamed beet slices neatly on a plate. Arrange the grapefruit around the beets. Sprinkle the pomegranates and pistachios over top, and pour the dressing over. Serve cold.

Dressing

1/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice

about 7 mint leaves, julienned

Stir together

Leave a Reply

