Spaghetti Squash Pomodoro

Hello everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend? Did anyone catch the Grammys?

I sort of watched it… Ok that’s a lie, I never really watch award shows anymore. I did recap it though so I had to research it all this morning. Fun stuff you guys. Lay off Lorde would ya? Miley can twerk, Lorde can twitch. At least she was clothed.

Anyway, for those of you who follow me on twitter you may have seen some tweets over the weekend of me talking about going vegan. Yes, it’s true. I decided to go vegan for one month. Of course I can’t be fully vegan while I am at culinary school, but considering I really don’t that much at school, I don’t think it’s that big of a deal. We try the food after we cook it but I’ve never been the student to just sit there and eat a giant piece of steak we cook up. Although that would be good…

Questions always come up when you change your diet as well, so I thought I would just say it now. I want to lose weight but I also want to be healthy. Lately, it seems everytime I try eating better I end up going off the wagon and eating a bunch of cookies or sweets, and while yes, maybe sometimes I’m under calories for the day, it is in no way healthy. Even if I did lose weight doing that, my health will show it’s not working for me in the long run. So I decided to try out a fully vegan diet, mostly made up of fresh fruits and veggies.

Today will be my third day and so far it’s working out for me. I love the foods that I am eating so it hasn’t been that hard. I mean who could say no to a big bowl of fruit?

And since I’m going vegan I thought I would share one of my absolute favorite vegan recipes, this spaghetti squash pomodoro. This stuff really does taste like pasta but it’s so much healthier for you and it’s not that hard to make.

Wish me luck, and enjoy!

Spaghetti Squash Pomodoro

(Recipe adapted from Epicurious)

Ingredients

1 medium spaghetti squash

2 tbls olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

splash of white wine

15 oz whole tomatoes

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Cut the squash in half and place on a large baking sheet. Roast in the oven for about 20-25 minutes or until easy to scrape into strands. Let cool and set aside while you make the sauce.

Heat the olive oil in a large pan and add in the onions. Cook until transclucent, about 5-10 minutes before adding in the garlic. Cook 1 minute longer. Add in the white wine and cook another 1-2 minutes before pouring in the can of tomatoes, juices and all. Add the rest of the ingredients and let cook until thoroughly warmed.

Scrape the squash with a fork making pasta like tendrils. Place these in the sauce and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

