Garlic and Onion Beef Pot Roast

I know what you’re thinking…

“Sarah! You said you were going vegan, why are you eating this meat? This beautiful…. beautiful…. meat…”

Don’t worry, I haven’t fallen off of the wagon yet.

 I know a lot of people aren’t vegan and probably would like something other than salad recipes. Ha. Ha. Because that’s totally what vegans eat all of the time. But, my whole family still eats meat, so guess who gets to cook awesome delicious food that they can’t eat for hungry people who can eat it?! You guessed it!

Honestly, the whole situation works out well for me, and my waist. This has only been my 5th day going vegan and I can already tell a difference in how I look and feel. Yes, it’s probably mainly due to the fact that all of my overeating has stopped and most of the food I consume is either raw fruits or vegetables but I actually really enjoy this way of eating. I don’t feel deprived, I feel better, mentally and physically. And cooking for other people? That’s why I love cooking. For me, it’s more of the process of cooking itself, and the reaction I get from other people who enjoy my food. I mean, yes, cooking all day and sitting down to  a nice dinner of perfectly seasoned rare steak with cheesy mashed potatoes and tiramisu for dessert is always a great thing, even if I don’t get to eat those foods I still love to cook them and will feel just as happy.

I think I’m in the right career plan.

This meal I actually did get to enjoy too though, as this was made before I went vegan and I have to say it was pretty great. Sticking the garlic into the meat brings out that flavor and just seasons the meat so well.Serve it over rice or as I did, I used homemade cauliflower rice.

Enjoy!

Garlic and Onion Beef Pot Roast

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 3-5 lb roast

4 cloves garlic, cut in half longwise

salt and pepper

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 tsp dried thyme

olive oil

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tbls worcestershire sauce

1 onion, sliced

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

First brown the roast. Pour a couple of tbls of olive oil in the bottom of your dutch oven over medium high. Sprinkle the roast liberally with salt and pepper and brown on each side. One done, pour in the herbs, an extra splash of olive oil, about 2 tbls, balsamic vinegar and worcestershire.

Cook for about 2 hours before turning heat down to 300 and adding in the onions. Cook for about another 1 1/2-2 hours.

Remove and serve over cauliflower rice, regular rice, or whatever you prefer!

One comment

Leave a Reply

