Broccoli with Hollandaise

Have you ever had a dish that was so revelatory to you? You knew it was good but then you have it some way and it becomes the most amazing thing you’ve ever tasted?

This happened to me not too long ago.

 It all happeened at school. You see, there is a bread making class right before one of my classes so there is always freshly baked bread. That day, we just so happened to be making hollandaise just because. Now us being the smart students we are, we began dipping some of the fresh bread into the hollandaise.

Oh… my….

Freshly baked brioche bread dipped into warm hollandaise. The chew and pull of the bread with the cheesy buttery deliciousness that is hollandaise. Heaven. I am not kidding you at all, the two are a match made in flavor heaven and thus I realized. Hollandaise. Hollandaise is my new favorite thing.

It’s not like that was my first time trying hollandaise before either, I’ve had it before. Eggs benedict is one of my favorite dishes. But eating the hollandaise with the freshly baked chewy brioche became something completely out of this world for me. I want more. Now, this isn’t a recipe for hollandaise with brioche, but I think I’ve come to the conclusion that hollandaise and anything is my new favorite food. So why not try to lighten it up just a little and put it over broccoli. Yum.

 Enjoy!

 

Broccoli with Hollandaise Sauce

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

2 cups broccoli florets, steamed

salt and pepper to taste

2 egg yolks

lemon juice

1/4-1/2 cup clarified butter, melted, warm

paprika and salt to taste

 

Directions

 

Begin steaming your broccoli while you make your hollandaise. It usually takes about 5-10 minutes to steam broccoli, depending on your preferred doneness.

Meanwhile, in a large metal bowl combine your egg yolks and just a little bit of lemon juice. About 1/2 tsp to start. Whisk for about 2 minutes.Next, melt your butter and while it is still hot begin slowly pouring it into the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly. Keep doing this until you reach a desired consistency, you want it to be thick almost like mayonnaise**. Melt more butter if necessary. Taste and adjust seasonings as desired, add more lemon juice if it needs it.

**You can tell by the pictures I didn’t make my hollandaise quiet that thick. I wanted it to almost melt into the broccoli and it did perfectly.

Leave a Reply

