Whiskey Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies

I think I have a problem….

A cookie problem. You see, I made those awesome chocolate chip cookies the other day and, well, it kind of sparked my interest. Why am I not making cookies all of the time? Now that is the true question. So of course I made more. And this time I actually measured a little bit more accurately than the last time, so hopefully these may be more reliable and I can remember how to get these delicious little bites all of the time.

So like I said I just made chocolate chip cookies and one of my most popular posts just happens to be my salted whiskey chocolate chip cookies. These cookies are a mixture of the two; with the addition of dried cherries. I originally intended to soak the cherries in brandy but you use what you have and I just so happened to have whiskey.

So how good were they? Lets analyze these little treats. They contain chocolate chips, whiskey, and dried cherries. The cherries are sweet, juicy, and since we simmered them with whiskey they pack a little extra punch to get your taste-buds really going. That contrasted with the creamy sweet chocolate chips is like heaven, but the entire cookie itself is large crunchy and light yet dense. To put it plainly, these cookies are complicated in all of the right ways.

My suggestion is to bake some of these cookies, grab a big glass of milk, sit back and let your worries drift away.

Enjoy!

 

Whiskey Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin) 

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp maraschino cherry juice

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 3/4 cup ap flour

1/4 cup whiskey

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Start by combining the whiskey and dried cherries in a small sauce pan. Let simmer for about 5 minutes to help reconstitute the cherries. Let cool while you continue with the recipe.

Cream together the butter and sugar for about 5 minutes. Add in the egg and mix to combine. Scrape down bowl as needed. Add in the vanilla and maraschino cherry juice and mix. Add in the salt, baking powder, and 1 cup flour. Mix to combine.

Pour in the cooled dried cherries and add in more flour as needed until it becomes a stiff dough.

Add in the chocolate chips and mix to combine.

Spoon into mounds on a greased baking sheet and bake for about 12-15 minutes until golden brown.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

