Cauliflower Leek Soup

Going to culinary school it’s really awesome being able to try a variety of foods that I’ve never tried before. Leeks are one of those things.


For a lot of people, leeks are very common. They use it in almost everything. In my house? I don’t remember us ever eating leeks… ever. Not until culinary school did I taste this strange plant. Was I hesitant? A little… Just from the look I expected it to taste like green onions and in a way it kind of does. But it’s better. It has more flavor, it’s more onion-y than green onions in my opinion.

So this find was very exciting for me, because hello, it’s a new ingredient to start using, and I think I finally found a good replacement for celery. I know I know, celery is great blah blah blah. No. I don’t like celery. I can tolerate it but if given the choice to leave it out, it’s not going in. Leeks? Yeah, you’ll be my celery replacement in mirepoix from now on my friend.

Enjoy!

 

Cauliflower Leek Soup

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 medium onion, chopped

6 leek stalks

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tbls olive oil

1 head cauliflower, chopped into florets

2 cups vegetable stock, plus water

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

2-4 tbls heavy cream

baked mushrooms for garnish (optional)

Directions

In a large skillet, saute the onion, leeks, and garlic in olive oil until translucent. Add in the cauliflower florets and continue cooking until the cauliflower cooks down a bit, about 5-10 minutes.

Once the cauliflower is ready, transfer everything into a large stock pot and add the vegetable stock and water until all of the veggies are covered.

Bring to a boil and simmer, cooking until the veggies are soft. 20-25 minutes.

Once veggies are soft, puree either in a blender or use an immersion blender. Puree to desired consitency. Add in the cream until as creamy as you desire, then add in the seasonings to taste. Garnish with baked mushrooms or anything you desire.

One comment

Leave a Reply

