No-Knead Bread

And alas I return.

 Of course I’m sure many people didn’t realize my, what? Two weeks absence? But for anyone who noticed, yes I left the world for two weeks not to be heard from. I wish I could say I actually did something fun with that time but nope, not really. So what have I been doing? School and work. Last week was filled with practicals of all sorts and this week will be filled with finals, and in between I’ve been working on the weekends meaning, I haven’t had much time to get around to cooking anything or really doing much else. Over the weekend I broke that streak though.

Sometimes I just start going crazy if I don’t get down and do something creative. It’s like my stress and unhappiness levels just go up and up until I step back for a few moments and do something productive that I actually enjoy doing. Like cooking.

And so this bread was born. One of my classmates brought this bread recipe in one day during class and we all just could not get enough. It creates an amazing homemade sourdough bread that tastes like it took you days and days of work to make. The truth? It took you 18 hours and hardly any work. It is the infamous no-knead bread.

No-Knead Bread

(Recipe adapted from Sullivan Street Bakery)

Ingredients

3 cups (430g) flour
1½ cups (345g or 12oz) water
¼ teaspoon (1g) yeast
1¼ teaspoon (8g) salt
olive oil (for coating)
extra flour, wheat bran, or cornmeal (for dusting)(I used flour)

Directions

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add water and incorporate by hand or with a wooden spoon or spatula for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Lightly coat the inside of a second medium bowl with olive oil and place the dough in the bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let the dough rest 12 hours at room temperature (approx. 65-72°F).

Remove the dough from the bowl and fold once or twice. Let the dough rest 15 minutes in the bowl or on the work surface. Next, shape the dough into ball. Generously coat a cotton towel with flour, wheat bran, or cornmeal; place the dough seam side down on the towel and dust with flour. Cover the dough with a cotton towel and let rise 1-2 hours at room temperature, until more than doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 450-500°F. Place the pot in the oven at least 30 minutes prior to baking to preheat. Once the dough has more than doubled in volume, remove the pot from the oven and place the dough in the pot seam side up. Cover with the lid and bake 30 minutes Then remove the lid and bake 15-30 minutes uncovered, until the loaf is nicely browned.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

