Guinness Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

It is done. The spring semester of 2014 is officially over and you have no idea how happy I am.

 Of course, that’s not to say I didn’t have fun this semester. I did. I didn’t have any professors that I just could not stand and the classes I had, well besides algebra and speech, were really fun. This semester involved lots of sugar, lots of steaks, and lots and lots of butter. Does that sauce need anything? Butter. Need to kick up your cake some? Add butter. Butter is the answer.

I’m pretty sure my arteries are glad this semester is over as well.

 Aside from eating way more delicious foods than I should have, I should mention that I also killed a lobster for the first time. The entire time the only thing I could think of was “Lobster killer…. lobster killer… lobster killer…” Julie & Julia anyone? And yes, I really did feel bad. For a person who doesn’t eat just a whole lot of meat, it’s hard. For my justification though he was very delicious and will always be remembered by me. R.I.P. little buddy.

Ignore my demented smile in the picture, I’m not evil I swear.

Anyway, now for these cookies. Recently a friend of mine turned 21 and so I decided to make some guinness cookies. It’s only fitting right? I was a little disappointed with the subtlety of the guinness flavor in the cookie, I think next time I’ll add more or reduce the guinness down to give it a stronger flavor, but aside from that these cookies are addicting. Soft, chewy, and very chocolatey. I would definitely make these cookies again.

Enjoy!

 

Guinness Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Recipe adapted from Heather Christo)

Ingredients

1 cup butter (2 sticks), room temp

1 1/2 cups white sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup guinness

2 cups flour

1 cup dark cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

11 ounces (or however much you want) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare sheet pans with silpats or parchment paper.

In the bowl of a standing mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until creamy.

Add the eggs and beat until fluffy.

Add the Guinness.

 Combine the dry ingredients and add to the batter. Add the chocolate chips and mix well.

Scoop the batter onto the sheet pan, and bake the cookies for 10 minutes. Let the cookies cool on the sheet pan, and enjoy!

 

Yield–About 24 big cookies

Leave a Reply

