Pâté De Foies De Volaille

So I’ll be honest about something. Pâté is not an attractive word. I mean really, when you say it out loud. Pa-tay? Yeah, no thanks… But don’t let this name fool you. I mean, it is better than saying buttery liver puree right?

The first time I ever tried a pâté was a life altering experience for me. I knew it had liver in it but the other ingredients were a mystery. I went into it hesitantly… pureed livers? Yeah… about that….

But then I tried it. The flavor was amazing! It was buttery, it was rich and the flavors danced in my mouth leaving me wanting more and more. Just give me a loaf of french bread and some pâté and I’ll be all set guys. And then after my mind and mouth had exploded a little and I settled down from this rush of delicious excitement, I started thinking about what was in it. I looked it up and it all made sense. Butter and livers are two very rich ingredients and putting them together with a couple of aromatics is simply divine. It just works.

And guess what? You don’t need to pay $10 for a couple of small pieces of bread and one little 2 ounce piece of pâté only to be left wanting more. You can make it at home now and it is seriously so easy and makes a ton.

Enjoy!

Chicken Liver Pate

(Recipe by Food & Wine)

Ingredients

1 lb chicken livers

1 small onion, thin slice

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp thyme, dried

1/2 cup water

3 sticks butter, room temp

2-3 tbls brandy

salt and pepper

 

Directions

In a medium saucepan, combine the chicken livers, onion, garlic, bay leaf, thyme and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Add the water and bring to a simmer. Cover, reduce the heat to low and cook, stirring occasionally, until the livers are barely pink inside, about 3 minutes. Remove from the heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.

Discard the bay leaf. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the livers, onion and garlic to a food processor; process until coarsely pureed. With the machine on, add the butter, 2 tablespoons at a time, until incorporated. Add the Cognac, season with salt and pepper and process until completely smooth. Scrape the pâté into 2 or 3 large ramekins. Press a piece of plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the pâté and refrigerate until firm. Serve chilled.

**Notes: My recipe is doubled and yielded a LOT of pate. Unless you are throwing a large party I would suggest cutting back on the recipe.

One comment

Leave a Reply

