Brussel Sprouts Salad With Mustard Lemon Dressing

I don’t know about you guys but I’m still in the whole brussel sprouts craze. I think I’ve been stuck in it for about, oh, a good 5 years now? I just can’t get enough of them. Even after eating so many that I thought I would be sick, I still somehow manage to love this odd little earth shaped veggie.

So recently I had gone out to eat at one of Austin’s truly amazing restaurants, The Salty Sow, and I got their brussel sprouts salad. Amazing.

Seriously, I know they are famous for so many other things but that brussel sprouts salad is completely out of this world. It had everything you ever wanted! Salty, sweet, tangy; and it’s made with brussel sprouts so it’s a little easier on your waistline. Everybody wins when they eat this.

And as much as I would love to go eat at the Salty Sow every night and have that amazing salad, my wallet won’t allow it. So I thought I’d do the next best thing and recreate the dish, at least somewhat, and have it at home.

One of the things I actually love about this salad is that the dressing has no oil. It’s just dijon and lemon juice. A lot lower in calories than a lot of other dressings which rely on oils to get them by but the flavor still packs a good enough punch so that you really taste it. You can serve this as a delicious side or just have a big salad (Seinfeld anyone?) for dinner!

Enjoy!

 

Brussel Sprouts Salad with Lemon Mustard Dressing

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 lb brussel sprouts, sliced

12 oz white mushrooms, sliced

2 tsp olive oil

2 tbls coarse ground mustard

juice of 1/2 lemon

salt and pepper to taste

dried cherries

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large saute pan. Saute the brussel sprouts and mushrooms until golden brown and cooked. Meanwhile, mix together the mustard and lemon juice.

Once the veggies are sauteed pour the dressing over,  season to taste and add in as many cherries as you like.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

