Blueberry Ricotta Coffee Cake

How is everyone today?

Has everyone been having a great summer? Filled with the laughter of children, too much sun, frequent ice cream runs and endless fun?

Yeah, I haven’t either.

 I’m not saying it’s been bad, it’s just been, busy. School 4 days a week, working most of the rest. If I have a day off it’s usually bombarded with having to take a test or just catching up on the lack of sleep that I can never seem to get back. But again, I’m not complaining. While school, even culinary school as fun as it is, is hard to get through sometimes, the want to be done is so overwhelming, but my job on the other hand helps me stay sane a little more. I mean, I’m working weddings, how is that not fun?

 While I meant to be posting regularly like usual here, sometimes that doesn’t always happen. At the end of the day just the thought of taking pictures of something I’ve made sounds like too much. I feel too lazy to get up and taking a few quality pictures. My justification? I don’t want it to feel like that. After doing so many things because I have to, I realized I don’t want to do anything else because of that. And besides, shouldn’t this be fun? That’s the only reason I do this site is because it’s fun. When I get over that, I’ll stop, but for now here is the last little gem of goodness I created after class yesterday.

Blueberry ricotta coffee cake. I have a tendency to forget how great coffee cakes taste until I try them again, and yeah. This one’s good. Originally the filling was cream cheese but since we happen to have an open container of ricotta just sitting in my fridge I decided to use that instead. Uh, yes. It was good. The topping is super crunchy and delicious, the filling a little milder which balanced out the sweet tart blueberries perfectly.

This would be the perfect cake to make for everyday, having guests over, or just because.

Enjoy!

Blueberry Ricotta Coffee Cake

(Recipe adapted from I eat Therefore I Cook)
Ingredients
2 cups All Purpose Flour
¾ cup brown sugar
2 eggs
4 TBSP Milk (I used 2%)
½ Cup Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt
4 TBSP Butter, melted
1 TSP Vanilla Extract
2 TSP Baking Soda
1½ TSP Baking Powder
15 oz Blueberries
1½ TBSP flour
Filling
4 oz. ricotta
3 TBSP Granulated Sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Topping
½ cup Brown Sugar
1 TBSP Ground Cinnamon
Directions
Preheat oven to 350F.
Grease an 8×8 loaf pan.
Mix together your dry ingredients, flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and baking soda.
In a separate bowl whisk together your eggs, milk, greek yogurt, vanilla, and butter.
Gently fold the wet into the dry to make the batter. Do not overmix.
In a small bowl toss the blueberries to coat evenly with the flour. (This helps them not rise to the top of the cake during baking)
In another small bowl mix together the filling ingredients.
Now, layer 3/4 of the batter in the bottom of the loaf pan, sprinkle on the blueberries and dollop the filling on top. Gently spread the rest of the batter on top, and sprinkle the whole thing with brown sugar.
Bake for 40-45 minutes until done.
Let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

