Arroz Con Pollo

 I have a feeling today is going to be one of those days.

I set my alarm, woke up and was checking my phone and somehow feel asleep for another hour. Woke up again, this time in a rush because oops, silly me, I fell asleep and I kind of have class today, and one of said classes I have a big presentation in. Yeah. Let’s hope this trend doesn’t last…

But lets’s all give a big ol’ round of applause for my best friend coffee for always being there when I need her the most! It’s mornings like these that make me really appreciate you for all you do.

Anyway, to brief you guys on this dish, it’s pretty awesome. I won’t lie, this might be one of the best things I’ve made. It’s simple, but amazing. By cooking the rice in the same dish as the chicken the method is similar to risotto but gives the rice so much extra flavor.

Enjoy!

Arroz Con Pollo

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)
Ingredients
1 lb chicken thighs
salt and pepper
cumin and ground mustard
olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp paprika
2 cups red rice
4 cups chicken stock
fresh chopped parsley for garnish
Directions
Season your chicken thighs with seasonings. Heat oil in a large pan and cook the chicken all the way through.
Once chicken is done remove, add onion in the same pan. Let cook until translucent then add in garlic. Cook 1 minute longer before adding the seasoning. Stir then add in rice. Let cook 1 minute before ladling in the chicken stock. Cover and simmer until water is absorbed and rice is done.
Sprinkle with fresh parsley and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

