Barley with Mushroom Gravy

So ten years later I finally write up another post. Hello again everyone.

For the few of you that are wondering why I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks, I’ll just say, life happens. Between school and work and all of the other various little things that need to be done sometimes you need a little break from everything.

So what have I been doing with that time? Being lazy of course. Procrastinating as usual. But I did accomplish one thing on my bucket list, so I wasn’t completely lazy.

With one week in between classes, me and my brother, along with a good friend, decided to go to Colorado and climb Mt. Elbert, the tallest mountain in the rockies. Was it a challenge? Uh, yeah. Did I struggle? Every. Single. Step of the way. Did I almost fall off the mountain and die? I’m pretty sure. But did we make it? YES! The only question that matters, was yes we made it to the top. Through the snow and icy rocks we trudged on and defeated that mountain.

So as you can imagine climbing a mountain with snow you start getting antsy for fall and cold weather food. This is exactly what you need. A hearty dish that’s actually really good for you, plus vegan! What else would you want to snuggle up to at night with?

Enjoy!

Barley with Mushroom Gravy

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

cooked barley, seasoned how you like

1 tsp olive oil

1 yellow onion, diced

2-3 tbls coconut flour

1-2 cups vegetable stock

1 lb mushrooms, sliced

salt and pepper to taste

parsley for garnish

Directions

In a large saute pan, cook onions in oil until translucent. Add in mushrooms and cook until golden brown, add more oil if needed. Then add a little stock and the coconut flour. Cook down for about 1-2 minutes before slowly adding in the rest of the stock, stirring constantly, until it reached desired consistency. (It’s probably best you eyeball it and add a little more flour or stock until it reaches the thickness you want.)

Season with salt and pepper, then pour over a bowl of warm barley and enjoy!

And in case you were curious about pictures from the mountain, I thought I’d post my favorite below.

IMG_2849edit

Leave a Reply

