Brussel Sprout and Butternut Squash Soup

I absolutely adore soup.

It’s one of those foods that I feel like I almost forgot about growing up. When I heard the word soup I never got excited. It’s a liquid food. So what?

But as I’ve gotten older I now see the light. Soup is amazing. No matter what you put into it soup can be great. Vegetables, fruits, meat, they all taste great in a soup. A couple of weeks ago when we went to Colorado I pretty much lived on soup. Split pea, beef and potato stew, sweet potato and quinoa. And it was there that I really really fell in love with soup again. Why do I not make soup all the time?

Fun fact, did you know that back in 1765 a man named Boulanger sold what he called “restaurants”. A restaurant was sort of a bouillon or soup that was meant to bring health and restoration. Restaurant/restoration. Makes sense, no? Soon after, people began opening up their own “restaurants” and began selling more than just soup broths, but food and drink of all sorts.

The more you know.

As far as this soup goes, you can tell I’m excited for fall. Brussel sprouts and butternut squash are two of my favorite vegetables and, in my opinion, they go together like peas and cornbread. And as it just so happened I actually had both in my fridge this week. How lucky is that?

To be honest, I was a little worried about this soup. I didn’t have any vegetable stock so I just used water. The thought of a watered down soup did not sound good to me but I have to say, it turned out absolutely amazing. Even the family enjoyed it!

Now to really get the full experience of this soup I suggest you bake, or you could buy, a loaf of crusty bread to go with it to really help sop up all of the delicious drops.

Enjoy!

Brussel Sprout and Butternut Squash Soup

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)
Ingredients
1 onion, chopped
2 tbls olive oil
1 garlic clove, smashed
1 lb brussel sprouts, cut in half
1 lb butternut squash, cubed
5 fresh sage leaves
water to cover
salt and pepper to taste
about 1/2-3/4 cup nutritional yeast
paprika to taste
Directions
Saute the onions in a large soup pot. Let them cook until golden and translucent, add in garlic cook 1 minute longer. Add in the brussel sprouts and butternut squash. Let cook to get nice and golden brown, about 10-15 minutes.
Add enough water to cover, along with sage. Bring to a boil then let simmer until veggies are nice and tender.
With an immersion blender, blend just a bit, leaving some chunks.
Add in nutritional yeast, salt and pepper, and paprika. Stir and taste. Adjust as necessary.
Serve and enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

