Chocolate Cake with Coffee Mousse

You know, sometimes I amaze myself.

 Some people can only stand a little sugar at a time. I, however, am not one of those people. I am the kind of girl that will drink a fruit smoothie and still be looking for something sweet. I wake up, eat some fruit, then immediately start thinking about dessert. Is this healthy? Absolutely not! I’m like a dentists worst nightmare and a 5 year old’s best friend. On any given day I have to have something sweet and trust me, it doesn’t matter if we have dessert in the house or not, I will find something sweet.

Now this is not new. All my life I’ve loved sweets and all my life I’ve tried to fight it. But sometimes I think, maybe I shouldn’t fight it anymore. Who cares if I have cake for breakfast and ice cream for dessert? I’m an adult now I can make my own rules! But then of course that little voice in the back of my head starts talking “just wait until summer comes again, you want to fit into your shorts don’t you?” Oh the struggle is real…

So I at least try to limit my sugar cravings to just one a day… or at least one item a day but sometimes it’s hard. As we speak I’m eating some of this cake and both loving every second of it and regretting every bite. At least we’re getting into the colder months and I can start bundling up!

Enjoy!

Chocolate Cake with Coffee Mousse

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)
Cake
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pans
2 cups sugar
3/4 cups good cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup buttermilk, shaken
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup freshly brewed hot coffee
Directions
Preheat oven to 350F.
Sift together all the dry ingredients in the bowl of a large stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix to combine.
Combine the vegetable oil, eggs, and vanilla. With the mixer on low, slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.
Slowly stir in the coffee. Mixture will be very runny.
Pour into prepared cake pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out.
 
Coffee Mousse
8 oz cream cheese, room temp
2 tsp brewed coffee
2-3 tsp espresso powder
1 cup heavy cream
4 tbls sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1-2 cups powdered sugar
 
Directions
Start by whipping your cream with a whip or stand mixer until soft peaks form. Add in granulated sugar and vanilla extract and continue whipping until medium/stiff peaks form. Set aside and chill.
Next, beat together the cream cheese, coffee and espresso powder. Gradually start adding in your powdered sugar until thickened some.
Gently fold in the whipped cream, 1/3 at a time until mixture is completely combined.
Refridgerate until ready to use.

Leave a Reply

