Lentils and Cauliflower with Mustard Lemon Dressing

Today marked the end of the semester for me. No more finals, no more projects, I am finally done. To say I am excited is an understatement. While this semester wasn’t the hardest, it definitely seemed to linger on. I’m finding that the farther into my degree I get, the more it seems to drag.

But the good thing? I only have one more semester left. One more semester!

No more working around school, no more feeling stuck in one place because of classes. One more semester and I will finally be free!

This may sound like a horrible look on school but that’s how it is. I’m getting my degree and I’m getting out. Of course I’ve always thought about going back after this degree. I mean, a culinary degree is very practical in that I’ll always be able to find a job but am I going to get rich? Probably not. Can I excel? Eh, to a certain degree.

Anyway, celebrations aren’t my biggest thing, especially for things unimportant like this, but I wanted something tasty, simple, and healthy. This fits all of them.

Savory and tangy mustard lemon dressing packs a ton of flavor for these lentils and cauliflower, making it a perfect quick dinner.

Enjoy!

Lentils and Cauliflower with Mustard Lemon Dressing

(Recipe by Sarah Eats Austin)

Ingredients

1 cup dry lentils

1 head cauliflower

1/4 cup stone ground mustard

3 tbls lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

chives for garnish

Directions

Cook lentils to package instructions.

Meanwhile, chop cauliflower into florets and steam until tender, about 5-10 minutes.

Whisk the mustard and lemon juice to create the dressing.

To serve, make a bed of lentils on the plate and top with cauliflower. Drizzle dressing over and garnish with chopped chives. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

